Promises in Death : In Death

  • by J. D. Robb
  • Narrated by Susan Ericksen
  • Series: In Death
  • 12 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Amaryllis Coltraine may have recently transferred to the New York City police force from Atlanta, but she's been a cop long enough to know how to defend herself against an assailant. When she's taken down just steps away from her apartment, killed with her own weapon, for Eve the victim isn't just "one of us." Dallas's friend, Chief Medical Examiner Morris, had started a serious relationship with Coltraine, and from all accounts the two were headed for a happy future together. But someone has put an end to all that. After breaking the news to Morris, Eve starts questioning everyone, including Coltraine's squad, informants, and neighbors, while Eve's husband, Roarke, digs into computer data on the dead woman's life back in Atlanta. To their shock, they discover a connection between this case and their own painful, shadowy pasts. The truth will need to be uncovered one layer at a time, starting with the box that arrives at Cop Central addressed to Eve, containing Coltraine's guns, badge, and a note from her killer: "You can have them back. Maybe someday soon, I'll be sending yours to somebody else." But Eve Dallas doesn't take too kindly to personal threats, and she is going to break this case, whatever it takes. And that's a promise.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

"Promises" Delivers!

Excellent! As usual the author and Narrator, J.D. Robb and Susan Ericksen Bring it to the newest book. It was sad, funny, quirky and as usual Miss Robb (or Roberts) delivers all the characters we have all become so familiar and have fallen in love with. What I particularly liked about "Promises" is how Eve has accepted of who she has become in life and does not harp on her past as a child. I'll admit, I was becoming tired of that. There are some real fun parts you will enjoy ... HINT: Louis & Charles. I do have to recommend to new readers to this series to start from the beginning because if you read this series out of order you will be a little disconnected with the characters and references of past cases. This book in particular. So enjoy, you will not be disappointed ... I "PROMISE".
Read full review

- Erin

Great Installment!

I love this series, and I particularly liked this installment over the previous one. It's great the way the author keeps you in touch with the assorted cast of characters woven throughout this series. If you are new to the series, I recommend that you go back and start from the beginning with Naked in Death and work your way forward. You won't be disappointed!
Read full review

- Judy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-24-2009
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio