Praying for Sleep

  • by Jeffery Deaver
  • Narrated by Anthony Heald
  • 2 hrs and 50 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When convicted murderer and paranoid schizophrenic Michael Hrubek escapes from the New England Hospital for the Criminally Insane, there is one person he especially wants to see: Lis Atcheson, 40-year-old high school English teacher, cultivator of roses and the chief witness at his trial. <>As Michael pursues Lis, several others hunt Michael: Trenton Heck, a professional tracker in need of the reward money; Richard Kohler, Michael's psychiatrist with secrets of his own to hide; Dr. Ronald Adler, head of the hospital, whose plush job is threatened by Michael's escape; and Owen Atcheson, Lis's husband, who is determined to reach Michael and kill him before Michael reaches Lis. A taut psychological thriller in the tradition of Silence of the Lambs and Deliverance, Praying for Sleep will keep you on the edge of your chair.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A few hours I'll never get back...

I'm a true Jeffrey Deaver fan and have been for a number of years (written and audible) but I have to admit this one completely disappointed me. The audio quality was horrible, the narration was less than exciting and the actual storyline was quite boring. Pass this one by and you won't be wondering how to recover the hours you spent listening.
Read full review

- Dan Bazinet

Volume

This production could not be enjoyed because an audible level of volume was not attainable. We had to return it to our library unused.
Read full review

- Brian

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-03-2009
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio