Regular price: $31.93

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Linda Castillo delivers an electrifying thriller in which Chief of Police Kate Burkholder must confront a dark evil to solve the mysterious murders of an entire Amish family.
The Plank family moved from Lancaster, Pennsylvania, to join the small Amish community of Painters Mill less than a year ago and seemed the model of the Plain Life—until on a cold October night, the entire family of seven was found slaughtered on their farm. Police Chief Kate Burkholder and her small force have few clues, no motive, and no suspect. Formerly Amish herself, Kate is no stranger to the secrets the Amish keep from the English—and each other—but this crime is horribly out of the ordinary.State agent John Tomasetti arrives on the scene to assist. He and Kate worked together on a previous case, during which they began a volatile relationship. They soon realize the disturbing details of this case will test their emotional limits and force them to face demons from their own troubled pasts—and for Kate, a personal connection that is particularly hard to bear.
When she discovers a diary that belonged to one of the teenaged daughters, Kate is shocked to learn the girl kept some very dark secrets and may have been living a lurid double life. Who is the charismatic stranger who stole the young Amish girl’s heart? Could the brother—a man with a violent past, rejected and shunned by his family and the Amish community, has come to seek out revenge? As Kate’s outrage grows, so does her resolve to find the killer and bring him to justice—even if it means putting herself in the line of fire.
Topping her own best-selling debut, Linda Castillo once again immerses us in the world of the Amish with a chilling story that is both a fast-paced thriller and intriguing psychological puzzle.
©2010 Linda Castillo (P)2010 Macmillan Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Though the violence level is high, the brutality is offset by Kate’s and her team’s very capable police procedure and investigation. Another solid effort that will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter and Tami Hoag.” ( Library Journal)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By betty on 12-31-10

Awesome!!! Betty from Butler, PA.

I am not normally a mystery listener, but I do love Amish stories of all kinds. This book kept me glued to listening. The narriator was wonderful, and the writing was detailed in a very good way. The killer is a mystery, but the reason is very normal in this troubled world. I read Linda's first book, and I would also recomend it very highly.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Len on 04-30-11

a good listen

I enjoyed this book and as a result, will listen to books written by Linda Castillo again. She has a prequel to this book which I probably should have listened to first.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 01-06-13

Brilliant (Book 2)

In the small Amish community of Painters Mill an entire family of seven was found slaughtered on their farm.

Chief Kate Burkholder (former Amish) and her small team have few clues.
Then Kate discovers a diary that belonged to one of the victim and is shocked to learn the girls secrets.

State Agent, John Tomasetti, himself in trouble at work, arrives to assist.

Can be read on its own but follows on beautifully from Book 1, Sworn to Silence.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews