Pray for Silence : Kate Burkholder

  • by Linda Castillo
  • Narrated by Kathleen McInerney
  • Series: Kate Burkholder
  • 11 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Linda Castillo delivers an electrifying thriller in which Chief of Police Kate Burkholder must confront a dark evil to solve the mysterious murders of an entire Amish family.
The Plank family moved from Lancaster, Pennsylvania, to join the small Amish community of Painters Mill less than a year ago and seemed the model of the Plain Life—until on a cold October night, the entire family of seven was found slaughtered on their farm. Police Chief Kate Burkholder and her small force have few clues, no motive, and no suspect. Formerly Amish herself, Kate is no stranger to the secrets the Amish keep from the English—and each other—but this crime is horribly out of the ordinary.When she discovers a diary that belonged to one of the teenaged daughters, Kate is shocked to learn the girl kept some very dark secrets and may have been living a lurid double life. Who is the charismatic stranger who stole the young Amish girl’s heart? Could the brother—a man with a violent past, rejected and shunned by his family and the Amish community, has come to seek out revenge? As Kate’s outrage grows, so does her resolve to find the killer and bring him to justice—even if it means putting herself in the line of fire.
Topping her own best-selling debut, Linda Castillo once again immerses us in the world of the Amish with a chilling story that is both a fast-paced thriller and intriguing psychological puzzle.

More

What the Critics Say

"Though the violence level is high, the brutality is offset by Kate’s and her team’s very capable police procedure and investigation. Another solid effort that will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter and Tami Hoag.” (Library Journal)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not For The Faint Hearted

First off, if you are at all squeamish, stay away from this book. Linda Castillo is a very talented author that has a knack for being able to draw the reader into very horrific scenes describing every nuance to the point that not only can the reader see it, they can almost feel it.

Once again the Amish community of Painters Mill is rocked by the apparently senseless brutal killing of the entire Plank family. Called to the scene, Police Chief Kate Burkholder and her small force are thrown into one of the most horrific scenes that any of them have ever been witness to. Knowing once again that this is over her head, her first call is to State Agent John Tomessetti. They have a history, both professionally and personally, but Kate knows that if anyone can help her figure out this mess then it is John.

But John comes with his own demons, two and a half years ago his wife and daughter were brutally murdered and John threw himself into a downward spiral of prescription drugs and alcohol in which he "sucks them down with the self- destructive glee of an addict". Now on administrative leave and seeing an overly preppy therapist, John is on a road to recovery but he is not exactly the ideal patient. He wants back to work, he wants to be a contributing member of the BCI force and most importantly he wants to be with Kate and help her through this investigation.

Kate and John are drawn into Mary Planks life and into a world that she was ill equipped to handle. What had Mary gotten herself into? Who was this English boy that she writes about in her journal? They needed to find him. They needed answers as to why the whole family is now dead and Mary's cryptic writings may hold the answers.

The climatic ending was a bit predictable with a few "oh my gosh" moments. A couple characters stood out to me as reasonable suspects though Ms Castillo blended them into the background of the story she was telling. No one is above suspicion and the Kate Burkholder series teaches you to pay close attention all characters, not just the obvious ones.

This second book in the Kate Burkholder series after (Sworn to Silence) most certainly lives up to its predecessor. I highly recommend that you start there since there are many references to the Slaughterhouse Murders, which was the case that originally brought Tomasetti and Burkholder together.

Kathleen McInerney was good with the delivery of the story
Read full review

- Lia "I love all genres of books. However, when I listen to audio books as I clean, garden, drive they are better with a lot of heat!"

Awesome!!! Betty from Butler, PA.

I am not normally a mystery listener, but I do love Amish stories of all kinds. This book kept me glued to listening. The narriator was wonderful, and the writing was detailed in a very good way. The killer is a mystery, but the reason is very normal in this troubled world. I read Linda's first book, and I would also recomend it very highly.
Read full review

- betty "West Sunbury, Pa."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-22-2010
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio