Power Down : Dewey Andreas

  • by Ben Coes
  • Narrated by Peter Hermann
  • Series: Dewey Andreas
  • 16 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Introducing a major new thriller writer - in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor - and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.
A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas.
Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna - an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business - sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas - who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him.
Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.
BONUS AUDIO: includes a conversation with the author and Mitt Romney.


What the Critics Say

"Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise--terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources--in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." (Publishers Weekly)
"With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year." (Vince Flynn, New York Times best-selling author of Pursuit of Honor)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


My goodness where has Ben Coes been. Please do yourself a favor and buy this one.
Power Down is a mix of Flynn's, Mitch Rapp guts, Thor's, Scott Harvath painful humor, and can it even be compared to Andrew Vachss's action? OH YES AND MORE!!! Trust me when I say you will absolutely enjoy POWER DOWN. I have listened to every book in every series that is remotely of this type of thriller and Ben Coes has done the unthinkable with his first outing in matching step for step with even my favorite Ted Bell with Alex Hawk. The one thing this book is missing is fluff. No mind numbing deep delving into why the trees are so green just to add words to the page. As I listened it just got better!
So do Power Down and Ben Coes the favor of our support and enable him to give us a second installment with the amazing Dewey Andeas, the Rapp and Harvath of this great Thriller.
Les C Houston TX
Read full review

- lesley

Had to force myself to finish it

I disliked this book and would not recommend it to anyone. In my opinion, it seemed like a heavy handed and rough first attempt at writing an action novel. The book was extremely predicable with little character development. Every Saudi was corrupt, every government official was inept and the protagonist, Dewey Andreas, is completely unstoppable and totally unbelievable. The bad guys can kill anyone with surgical precision except of course, Dewey.

The narrator read at a slow pace with a near monotone voice using few inflections aside from speaking through clenched teeth at times.

I am stunned that I have such a different opinion than most reviewers. I enjoy this genre and am an avid fan of Vince Flynn's Mitch Rapp series. For some reason, with this one I had to force myself to finish it before buying a different audio book.
Read full review

- Bob "I am a technical software executive with a passion for fantasy, self improvement and action literature. As life forced itself on me I found less and less time to read so when I found audible it was a great match! I listen mostly in the car or while walking the dog. I can tell I'm listening to a great book when I find myself volunteering to run errands or walk the dog for the third time that day."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-28-2010
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio