Power Down : Dewey Andreas

  • by Ben Coes
  • Narrated by Peter Hermann
  • Series: Dewey Andreas
  • 16 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Introducing a major new thriller writer - in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor - and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.
A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas.
Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna - an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business - sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas - who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him.
Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.
BONUS AUDIO: includes a conversation with the author and Mitt Romney.

More

What the Critics Say

"Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise--terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources--in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." (Publishers Weekly)
"With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year." (Vince Flynn, New York Times best-selling author of Pursuit of Honor)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not following the trend of 4 and 5 stars

I am going to preface this by saying it is probably one of the better plots I have ever heard. A very frightening concept and overall - A good story line.

That was the good. This is the bad - For me anyway.

Peter Hermann has a very good voice..................But - It was unnervingly distractive every time he spoke through gritted teeth to express anger or frustration in his characters. 1st - They all sound the same when he spoke through gritted teeth. You knew which character, only because of where you were in the book. Plus - He was gritting his teeth when his charachters even thought angry. More importantly - The main charachter never stopped thinking or talking angry. I probably would have enjoyed the book more if I read it instead. One of the reasons I stopped listening to Scott Brick narrated books.

Ben Coes overall had a great story line. I realize some situations will be embellished in a book - But some things just did not add up no matter what. There is no way an ex anything could demand the things that Dewy demanded from the FBI ect.... Or - The fact that they included him in evrything.

Still thinking about the fact that after Dewy stabbed somebody - He dug a bullet out of his shoulder not long after without any referance to even attempt to sanitize the blade. I mean - Wash it with warm water and soap.

If the story line was more realistic instead of the obiviously ridiculous scenarios like a 2 man team (of nobody's) breaking into a wet works building in another country with security that's so bad it makes a wal-mart look like the pentagon, it would have been better.

I won't compare this to Vince Flynn.... Dewy is not supposed to be Mitch Rapp - And he isn't - That's for sure.

Sorry - It was a few things a way from being great.
Read full review

- John

The best thing to happen since Mitch Rapp!

I'm halfway through the unabridged audiobook version and I can't stop listening to hear what happens next. Jack Reacher wouldn't want to walk up to Dewey in a dark alley and Mitch Rapp would buy him a beer! You're an amazing author and I look forward to all your new work. Great to have a new master in this genre!
Read full review

- Tommy Jordan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-28-2010
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio