Regular price: $31.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Introducing a major new thriller writer - in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor - and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.
A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas.
Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna - an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business - sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas - who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him.
Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.
BONUS AUDIO: includes a conversation with the author and Mitt Romney.
©2010 Ben Coes (P)2010 Macmillan Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise--terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources--in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." (Publishers Weekly)
"With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year." (Vince Flynn, New York Times best-selling author of Pursuit of Honor)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Constance on 11-09-10

WOW.COULD NOT PUT THIS ONE DOWN. MUST READ!

I must admit to being a bit jaded when it comes to action/mystery/thrillers. I have listened to literally hundreds of books on audible and this is my favorite of this genre. All I can say is,"Flynn, Clancy, Baldacci, and all you other favorite authors of mine, watch out! Ben Coes had outdone you all.
I have a habit of looking for errors, gross exaggerations, etc-especially if the book spends anytime on areas of my particular expertise-law, energy, wall street finance, etc. I did not find one mistake(of course, that does not mean there aren't any. As fantastic as some of the plot lines may seem, they all get tied up nicely with an end result of a heavy dose of realism and a very scary view of what could happen in America. However, as interesting as the Terrorism story line is-far more exciting to me is the way Coes makes these characters seem so very human. It is as thou I am in the story myself. The lead characters are shown as normal people with the same foibles anyone might possess-and I am talking people in the top echelon of our government. I thought I was ease dropping on conversations taking place among leaders of FBI, CIA, NSA, etc. I guess our government isn't very different from our corporate environments-same old, same old with the backstabbing, upstaging, etc. I enjoyed these meetings between top leaders of our gov/t almost as much as the non-stop action going on the same time. This was something else I truly loved about this first effort by Coes(it certainly wont be his last, if this one is any indication!)-it is multifaceted. One moment something is about to blow up, has blown up, may blow up, with believeable actions and consequences. The next moment, I am trying to figure out if the investment scenarios make sense. This is one tightly written book. No fillers. No boredom. And excellent research. And we are left with serious issues to contemplate afterwards. So-in a nutshell-Fun, exciting ride with a compelling message.

Read More Hide me

57 of 59 people found this review helpful


By Tommy Jordan on 01-04-11

The best thing to happen since Mitch Rapp!

I'm halfway through the unabridged audiobook version and I can't stop listening to hear what happens next. Jack Reacher wouldn't want to walk up to Dewey in a dark alley and Mitch Rapp would buy him a beer! You're an amazing author and I look forward to all your new work. Great to have a new master in this genre!

Read More Hide me

42 of 44 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews