Poisoned Prose : Books by the Bay

  • by Ellery Adams
  • Narrated by Karen White
  • Series: Books by the Bay
  • 9 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When Olivia Limoges and other Oyster Bay patrons of the arts sponsor a retreat for famous storytellers, one of them is going to have a very unhappy ending....
Olivia thought that gathering some of the most renowned storytellers in one place would be a nice, simple way for herself and the Bayside Book Writers to appreciate their talents. But things take a dark turn when the most famous storyteller in the nation - the captivating performer Violetta Devereaux - announces onstage that she will meet her end in Oyster Bay. When Violetta is discovered murdered after the show, everyone involved with the retreat becomes a suspect. There are rumors that Violetta, who grew up in extreme poverty in the Appalachian Mountains, possessed an invaluable treasure. Now Chief Rawlings and the Bayside Book Writers must work at a frenzied pace to solve the crime before someone closes the book on them.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Poisoned Prose

This is a very good addition to a very entertaining series. The characters are interesting and continue to develop and grow. The mystery is well thought out and complex. I look forward to the next book.
Read full review

- Beatrice

A lot of things going on.

At first I had a difficult time staying focused while I walked because there were a lot of characters being introduced and things going on. But when I started over (just 2 chapters) and being more focused, I enjoyed the suspense, action and characters. This is not one you can get distracted for a couple lines! I was disappointed when this book was finished. Looking forward to next one. I still wish characters didn't sound so old. Although I've learned to accept Olivia's voice as more mature and sophisticated, but not as snobby and standoffish as I originally perceived it.
Read full review

- Jeannette T

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-03-2015
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio