Place of Fear

  • by Ken Pelham
  • Narrated by Mark Kamish
  • 14 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Deep in the rainforest of Guatemala, a missing scientist, long given up for dead, languishes in a lightless prison cell. Fueled by a powerful, unknown narcotic, his senses are on fire; he can feel them expanding far beyond human bounds, even as the drug tears at his sanity. Upon learning that his friend is alive, Carson Grant mounts a frenzied rescue before the appointed time of execution. While a cutthroat band of looters, seeking easy riches, closes in for the kill, Grant stumbles onto the remnant of a mysterious hybrid civilization intent on destroying anyone that threatens to expose it. Trapped and desperate, Grant entrusts his team's survival into the hands of a young Maya cop and his beautiful, haunted sister.
Winner of the 2012 Royal Palm Literary Award, Place of Fear propels you inexorably toward a collision between Norse myth and Maya history, wherein only ultimate sacrifice brings survival. Place of Fear is the stunning prequel hinted at in Brigands Key, the thriller described by The Florida Weekly as "a perfect storm of menace...breathtaking!" Fans of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child, James Rollins, and Steve Berry will find in Place of Fear to be a pause-resisting adventure and absorbing mystery that will keep them listening long into the night.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Finally made it end.

Would you try another book from Ken Pelham and/or Mark Kamish?

Unlikely. Interesting ( although somewhat derivative ) concept, poorly executed.


What was most disappointing about Ken Pelham’s story?

Very scattered, dragged out and some frankly poor editing . The sexual scenes in the midst of otherwise violent , life-threatening situations is , honestly, gratuitous.


What didn’t you like about Mark Kamish’s performance?

Again, there is potential here, but he is slow, almost painfully so, and changes tone and context so often as to be almost unlistenable. I ended up doubling the speed of the playback just to move it forward and still found it very a very difficult experience.


If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Place of Fear?

Take the idea, find a sharp editor, and bring in a different performer.


Any additional comments?

This started out strong and lagged as it moved on. I was provided this book by the author in exchanged for a fair and unbiased review, and this is it. The dragged out content and performance render this book an offering I cannot ( unfortunately, as the concept was there ) recommend.

Read full review

- Matthew

Fantastic Mystery/Adventure!

Any additional comments?

If you liked Indiana Jones, or you enjoy Clive Cussler books, or you just dig adventure stories in general, this book is for you. 'Place of Fear' is an adventure story that leverages history, international locations, local lure of international places and some genius writing skills to weave this tale. An intricate look at archeology and all of the ways that it can go wrong, in the most dangerous of circumstances. I absolutely loved trying to figure out how the mystery would be solved and was enthralled from top to bottom. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a historical, suspenseful adventure story. 10/10

I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.

Read full review

- Tad B.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-22-2016
  • Publisher: Kenneth B. Pelham