• by David Housewright
  • Narrated by R. C. Bray
  • 8 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Holland Taylor is comfortable in interrogation rooms. For years the cold, dark cells of the St. Paul Police Department homicide squad were his turf, and with the help of his partner he wrung confessions out of countless killers. But that was long ago. Tonight Taylor is on the other side of the desk. Tonight he is the suspect.
Taylor's career in the department ended after his wife and daughter were killed in a drunk driving accident. The culprit, John Brown, was sentenced to a measly six years for vehicular manslaughter, and Taylor vowed bloody vengeance in front of open court. After a few months of freedom, Brown is shot dead, and Taylor, now a private investigator, is called in as the obvious suspect.
The death turns out to be linked to Taylor's current case, involving state representative and gubernatorial candidate Carol Catherine Monroe, who is being blackmailed by an old boyfriend. He didn't kill John Brown, but he will find out who did even if it means tearing the Twin Cities apart from the inside out.


What the Critics Say

"A surprisingly accomplished first novel with a likable everyman protagonist and a clever plot." (Booklist)
"An intriguing, darkly pessimistic take on American politics and media." (Publishers Weekly)
"As long as authors like David Housewright build first novels as good as Edgar-winner Penance, readers will come." (The Armchair Detective)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Pretty good, pretty good. Sometimes very funny, a little draggy at other times. A lot of characters, a little difficult to keep them all straight! Terrific narration: excellent job with all the different dialects and accents, so that is a big entertainment plus for the overall story. More like performance than narration, often sounding like more than just one person narrating. Snappy dialogue, a worthwhile listen.
Read full review

- escoocoo

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-01-2013
  • Publisher: HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books