Orphan X : Evan Smoak

  • by Gregg Hurwitz
  • Narrated by Scott Brick
  • Series: Evan Smoak
  • 11 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Nowhere Man is a legendary figure spoken about only in whispers. It's said that when he's reached by the truly desperate and deserving, the Nowhere Man can and will do anything to protect and save them.
But he's no legend.
Evan Smoak is a man with skills, resources, and a personal mission to help those with nowhere else to turn. He's also a man with a dangerous past. Chosen as a child, he was raised and trained as part of the off-the-books black box Orphan program, designed to create the perfect deniable intelligence assets - i.e. assassins. He was Orphan X. Evan broke with the program, using everything he learned to disappear.
Now, however, someone is on his tail. Someone with similar skills and training. Someone who knows Orphan X. Someone who is getting closer and closer. And will exploit Evan's weakness - his work as The Nowhere Man - to find him and eliminate him.
Grabbing the listener from the beginning, Orphan X is a masterful thriller, the first in Gregg Hurwitz's electrifying new series featuring Evan Smoak.


What the Critics Say

"The most exciting thriller I've read since The Bourne Identity. Fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne will LOVE Evan Smoak. A new thriller superstar is born!" (Robert Crais)
"Orphan X is the most gripping, high-octane thriller I've read in a long, long time. Hang onto your seat because Gregg Hurwitz will take you on a dizzying ride you'll not soon forget!" (Tess Gerritsen)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional

This is my favorite of Hurwitz’s books that I’ve read. Within the usual need to suspend disbelief required of action thrillers, the characters feel real and Evan Smoak emerges as a hero to invest in. His commitment to help those in genuine trouble with all the skills needed to succeed makes for exciting reading when he takes on some really really dangerous opponents owning the same skills. What adds the human dimension is the supporting cast of his neighbors in his apartment building who only know him as an importer of industrial cleaning supplies and expect him to act as a normal neighbor should - attending owners association meetings and watching kids in an emergency. This adds a messiness to his life that is not entirely unwelcome, but his previous experience has never prepared him for. His advice to a neighbor child being victimized by a school bully (take out his knees) causes a big problem with the mom and school.

The central conflict Evan needs to solve is who is after his latest client. Nothing seems to add up but he can’t quite figure out why. Distracted by the above mentioned messiness, he struggles to maintain an emotionless detachment using his 10 Commandments that govern all decision making. The most sacred of the commandments, “Never let an innocent die”, is in jeopardy as danger comes from multiple directions, placing multiple innocents in danger at once – how to choose who to save? How this plays out is both exciting and emotionally satisfying. I don’t get invested in too many character series, but this is one I am eager to revisit.
Read full review

- Janice "Rating scale: 5=Loved it, 4=Liked it, 3=Ok, 2=Disappointed, 1=Hated it. I look for well developed characters, compelling stories."

Stellar Start to a Masterful New Series

This is among the best thrillers I've ever read!!! It hooked me from the very start and didn't let go... Finished it in one sitting even though that meant losing a night of sleep... Simply couldn't put it down... The hero is unique and will be mentioned in the same breath as genre icons and stalwarts immediately.... The pace and plot are simply excellent. The characters are drawn w/ magnificent clarity and effortlessly have you invested from the outset. It's a wonderful adventure fraught w/ superior intensity, great introspection, and deft and timely action... There's some aptly placed and clever humor to go along w/ this total package as well... Put simply it is an outstanding work that will appeal to any reader, especially those enjoying the mystery thriller genre... The narration surpasses excellent as usual and makes the total experience one to inspire awe in the reader... I'd give it 6* if allowed... This series will be talked about and enjoyed by all, and is certainly worth the credit and a sleepless night...
Read full review

- Sandra "Blind listener reading everything, especially sf&f & mystery/thrillers, restricted to audio so picky where credits are spent #BooksRule"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-19-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio