One Good Turn : Jackson Brodie Mysteries

  • by Kate Atkinson
  • Narrated by Jason Isaacs
  • Series: Jackson Brodie Mysteries
  • 5 hrs and 58 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It is the Edinburgh Festival. People queuing for a lunchtime show witness a road-rage incident - an incident which changes the lives of everyone involved.
Jackson Brodie, ex-army, ex-police, ex-private detective, is also an innocent bystander - until he becomes a suspect.
With Case Histories, Kate Atkinson showed how brilliantly she could explore the crime genre and make it her own. In One Good Turn she takes her masterful plotting one step further. Like a set of Russian dolls each thread of the narrative reveals itself to be related to the last. Her Dickensian cast of characters are all looking for love or money and find it in surprising places. As ever with Atkinson what each one actually discovers is their true self. Unputdownable and triumphant, One Good Turn is a sharply intelligent read that is also percipient, funny, and totally satisfying.


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A Turn You Don't Expect

Where does One Good Turn rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

One Good Turn is one of those audiobooks you don't want to stop. Listening to it on a long car journey, I didn't want to get out of the car, but continue listening.

What did you like best about this story?

Although a bit quirky, I liked the way the many parts of the story came together, and I liked the way the story ended with the character it began with.

What does Jason Isaacs bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

The book comes alive with Jason Isaacs reading it.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

I liked the end where it all came together.

Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-01-2010
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks