One Bad Turn

  • by Sinéad Crowley
  • Narrated by Aoife McMahon
  • 8 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

How could your good friend become your worst enemy?
A thrilling, fast-paced crime thriller for fans of Clare Mackintosh and MJ Arlidge, from the author of Can Anybody Help Me? and Are You Watching Me? - both short-listed for Irish Crime Book of the Year.
Being held hostage at gunpoint by her childhood friend is not Dr Heather Gilmore's idea of a good day at work. It only gets worse when she hears that her 19-year-old daughter, Leah, has been kidnapped.
Sergeant Claire Boyle wasn't expecting to get caught up in a hostage situation during a doctor's appointment. When it becomes apparent that the kidnapping is somehow linked to the hostage taker, a woman called Eileen Delaney, she is put in charge of finding the missing girl. What happened between Eileen and Heather to make Eileen so determined to ruin her old friend? Claire Boyle must dig up the secrets from their pasts to find out - and quickly, because Leah is still missing, and time is running out to save her.

More

Audible Editor Reviews

"A crackingly-paced thriller, featuring a totally believable female detective." (Sunday Mirror)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fireworks at Start burn out fast- bad turn indeed

Sadly, I wasn't a fan of Book 3 in this otherwise entertaining Irish Garda detective series featuring Sergeant Claire Boyle. Having really enjoyed Book 2 in the Claire Boyle series, I was looking forward to reading this one. However, it was a disappointment. The story is slow and unfortunately just drags.
Claire Boyle has a baby and her issues with being a working mother get really dull in this book. Her husband complains constantly so she is stretched to the limit and we, the listeners, get sick of hearing about it. In this case, the domestic trouble doesn't add anything to the story. In fact, I heard the same stuff in Book 2 and I am surprised that it is still going strong. Put up or shut up. It gets old.
As to the mystery, the plot starts with some promise. Claire is thrust into danger when, by coincidence, she is in the bathroom almost leaving her doctors office when an old friend of the doctor's with a great big grudge shows up, with a gun and a scary accomplice. But it just goes downhill from there. The characters that the police are trying to save are so unlikeable that one feels like telling them to stop working themselves senseless over it. And why does Flynn feel the need to keep working in the field with broken ribs and shortness of breath? I like Flynn, but even he was making me groan. I was majorly bored with the entire thing by 2/3 in. The revelations that occurred at about that point were not enough to save it for me. I was bored and irritated at the slow pace and the elementary procedural aspects of the case.
The only parts I enjoyed were those featuring Eileen, the faithful, wronged friend of Dr. Heather Gilmore, during the background portions pre-hostage takeover. Her story was touching and identifiable. The rest of the story would have worked better, I think, if the reader was encouraged to connect with more of the characters.
Suffice it to say, I am lukewarm as to One Bad Turn- hope it's just 'One Bad Book' in this otherwise good series.
Read full review

- David

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-01-2017
  • Publisher: Quercus