Regular price: $27.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An innocent night of fun takes a shocking turn in Not That I Could Tell, the next thrilling audiobook from Jessica Strawser.
When a group of neighborhood women gathers, wine in hand, around a fire pit where their backyards meet one Saturday night, most of them are just ecstatic to have discovered that their baby monitors reach that far. It's a rare kid-free night, and they're giddy with it. They drink too much, and the conversation turns personal.
By Monday morning, one of them is gone.
Everyone knows something about everyone else in the quirky small Ohio town of Yellow Springs, but no one can make sense of the disappearance. Kristin was a sociable twin mom, college administrator, and doctor's wife who didn't seem all that bothered by her impending divorce - and the investigation turns up more questions than answers, with her husband, Paul, at the center. For her closest neighbor, Clara, the incident triggers memories she thought she'd put behind her - and when she's unable to extract herself from the widening circle of scrutiny, her own suspicions quickly grow. But the neighborhood's newest addition, Izzy, is determined not to jump to any conclusions - especially since she's dealing with a crisis of her own.
As the police investigation goes from a media circus to a cold case, the neighbors are forced to reexamine what's going on behind their own closed doors - and to ask how well anyone really knows anyone else.
©2018 Jessica Strawser (P)2018 Macmillan Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Full of slow-burning intrigue, Strawser's second novel will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies and Jennifer Kitses' Small Hours." —Booklist
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Allexia Martin on 04-02-18

Pleasant - yet thrilly - companion to jogging

Any additional comments?

This book was my companion for a week, as I listened to it during my runs.
It was a pleasant listen, I really liked the narrator. It had enough suspense to keep me intrigued - it reminded slightly of the beginning of the series Slasher, on Netflix - and a (in my opinion) solid conclusion.
Not rating 5 stars ("It's great" instead of "I loved it") because I would have liked more plot twists and surprises, but that's just my personal taste. Still would recommend!

Read More Hide me

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By Amanda on 03-31-18

Dull. Disappointing. Boring.

I hate to leave bad reviews but this book kind of deserves one. It’s completely honest anyway. This book was so boring. You keep waiting for something to happen. But nothing does. You keep waiting for a twist or some giant reveal and nope. To be fair, there is ONE slightly dramatic scene toward the end of the book by even that is a 3 on a scale of 1-10 in drama. And there IS a little “I didn’t see that coming at the end” but it wasn’t a wow moment.

You never get to know Kristin before she disappears. You never get to know the husband before she disappears. I couldn’t even imagine what the neighbors looked like in my mind because there was no real description. There was a side love triangle thing she tried to make work in the story but there is no point to it. The writing style was fine but the book was missing plot twists, drama, shock, emotion...it was just boring day to day lives of be neighbors and then wondering where Kristin went.

And by the way, it’s also completely predictable. Not even much of a hint of it being anything but what the author leads you to believe. This is not a thriller on any level so if that’s what your going for, stick to books like The Wife Between Us and The Last Mrs. Parrish. I’m so confused how anyone can think this a 5 Star book. NOTHING HAPPENS. Exactly what parts were so amazing? Again, I hate being ugly about a book but after reading her first book I was excited about this one. Skip it.

Read More Hide me

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews