No Shred of Evidence : Inspector Ian Rutledge

  • by Charles Todd
  • Narrated by Simon Prebble
  • Series: Inspector Ian Rutledge
  • 11 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this absorbing new entry in the acclaimed New York Times best-selling series, Scotland Yard's Ian Rutledge is caught up in a twisted web of vengeance and murder.
On the north coast of Cornwall, an apparent act of mercy is repaid by an arrest for murder. Four young women have been accused of the crime. A shocked father calls in a favor at the Home Office. Scotland Yard is asked to review the case.
However, Inspector Ian Rutledge is not the first inspector to reach the village. Following in the shoes of a dead man, he is told the case is all but closed. Even as it takes an unexpected personal turn, Rutledge will require all his skill to deal with the incensed families of the accused, the grieving parents of the victim, and local police eager to see these four women sent to the infamous Bodmin Gaol. Then why hasn't the killing stopped?
With no shred of evidence to clear the accused, Rutledge must plunge deep into the darkest secrets of a wild, beautiful, and dangerous place if he is to find a killer who may - or may not - hold the key to their fate.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

This Inspector Rutledge audio is outstanding!

The latest Inspector Rutledge novel with Simon Prebble's narration is outstanding!

As most audio book readers (listeners) realize, there are not many good writers of "police procedural" novels and even fewer of the very important good narrations.

The Inspector Ian Rutledge series by Charles Todd (pen name for the mother-and-son writing team of Charles and Caroline Todd) is unique for the police procedural genre. The entry in Wekipedia says it best -"The books deal with the cases of Inspector Ian Rutledge, a veteran of the European campaigns who is attempting to pick up the pieces of his Scotland Yard career." In my opinion they are not the typical "who done it" story lines, but more of a what it was like to be a Scotland Yard detective in post World War I Britain tasked with assignments of assisting local police to confirm their suspicions and finding himself having to prove who didn't do it. This latest novel, "No Shred of Evidence", a perfect example.

As with all the novels in this series, Rutledge has to work without benefit of forensics. He must rely on information gleaned from others the most difficult of which is the local aristocracy, who at that time looked down on "the police" and were loathed to cooperate in any investigation that might create any scandal. That and his gut feel, which is expressed in the form of the voice of Hamish Macbeth, a corporal that he was required to execute during the battle of the Somme. A duty that has haunted him ever since.

The first nine novels in the series were narrated by Samuel Gillies. I would rate his narration at 4 stars. For the next nine novels, Simon Prebble took over. His narration goes beyond the typical narrator's reading and is what I consider to be a 5 star performance. Prebble's talent and skill puts him in a class with very few other audio book narrators. As I listen to Prebble's performance, I actually feel transported to the scenes and actions in the novel and become a bystander.

For me, the plot really becomes secondary and it's the details of the scenes, penned by Charles Todd and Prebble's performance that make it all so very entertaining. The two worst words being "The End."

Although in my review of "Proof of Guilt" (#15 in the series) I rated it the best of a great series, I now think that this latest novel "No Shred of Evidence" (#18) is the very best. Having listened to all 18 at least twice, picking the best is not easy.

This series is very chronological, so from that point of view the reader (listener) should probably start with #1 "A Test of Wills", although the Todd team wrote a pre-quel "A Fine Summer's Day" that was released 01/06/15 (#17). It is about Inspector Rutledge before he went off to war in 1914. That novel was narrated by Steven Crossley, which is the only one in the series that he narrated. I was pleasantly surprised to find that Prebble returned to perform the narration of this current release.

Incidentally, Prebble has narrated over 500 books since "retiring", in 1990, to the US from an acting and narration career in Britain and in 2010 he was awarded the coveted Audie.
Read full review

- Robert

Charles Todd never disappoints

Every book in this series is masterfully done. This may be my favorite. From the opening scene to the end we are carefully taken through a captivating journey.
I highly recommend this series.
Read full review

- Sweetwilliam

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-16-2016
  • Publisher: HarperAudio