Regular price: $31.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Now a major motion picture.
Never go back - but Jack Reacher does, and the past finally catches up with him.... Never Go Back is number-one New York Times best-selling author Lee Child’s new novel of action-charged suspense starring "one of the best thriller characters at work today" (Newsweek). 
Former military cop Jack Reacher makes it all the way from snowbound South Dakota to his destination in northeastern Virginia, near Washington, D.C.: the headquarters of his old unit, the 110th MP. The old stone building is the closest thing to a home he ever had. 
Reacher is there to meet - in person - the new commanding officer, Major Susan Turner, so far just a warm, intriguing voice on the phone. 
But it isn’t Turner behind the CO’s desk. And Reacher is hit with two pieces of shocking news, one with serious criminal consequences, and one too personal to even think about. 
When threatened, you can run or fight. 
Reacher fights, aiming to find Turner and clear his name, barely a step ahead of the army, and the FBI, and the D.C. Metro police, and four unidentified thugs. 
Combining an intricate puzzle of a plot and an exciting chase for truth and justice, Lee Child puts Reacher through his paces - and makes him question who he is, what he’s done, and the very future of his untethered life on the open road.
©2013 Lee Child (P)2013 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Child is a superb craftsman of suspense." ( Entertainment Weekly)
"The truth about Reacher gets better and better." (Janet Maslin, The New York Times)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By David Shear on 09-06-13

Expect the Best

"Expect the Best, Prepare for the Worst" becomes a theme through this book, but no need to prepare for the worst--this story is awesome.
I've listened to all 18 of the Reacher series over the last three years, and Lee Child continues to shine as the creator of Jack Reacher in #18.
As a Jack Reacher fan, all the great qualities are there:
--Lee Child keeps it clean while keeping the action and the story riveting.
--He makes Reacher multi-layered and complex by having Reacher cracks skulls of bad guys, then in another scene, out smart the bad guys through his knowledge of body language, human behavior, math, and yes, even poetry.
--He reveals just a touch of Reacher's soft side.
--He continues to unfold details of Reacher's past, weaving together a complete character that gets better and better with each book.
--Throws in just a bit of humor that makes Reacher human.

This story is even better than many of the first 17 in the Reacher series because there are a couple of great female characters. Like, really, really great female characters--the best he has introduced yet.

The ending did feel a little "quick." I wish the action had been drawn out more, but to me, that's just a sign of a great book. I never want a great book to actually end.

If this is your first Reacher novel, you'll miss out on a few "insider" jokes, like the folding toothbrushes. But overall, you certainly would be able to follow the story and enjoy it.

As for the performance, as usual, Dick Hill is perfect. I think a narrator should disappear and let the story shine and Hill does that. As usual, I'm super impressed with his female voices, you don't even notice him which leaves you free to just enjoy the story.

As with most Reacher fans, I was disappointed with #17, but Lee Child is back and better than ever.

I highly recommend.

Read More Hide me

61 of 70 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Michele Kellett on 02-19-14

A Tired Series

No one loved Jack Reacher more than I did, at least for the first 6 or 7 installments. The plots were taut and unexpected, our hero intriguing and the wit as dry as the Mojave. But these wonderful books have devolved into self-parody. This novel has a ridiculous plot -- with such risible features as an inflight brawl in an airplane restroom. As if two small people could fit in one of those, much less the Frigidaire-sized Reacher and his opponent! Also, Reacher has theories about himself that involve campfires and howling wolves and he's happy to share them. The mystery of Reacher's stunning fitness (the man eats pancakes and cheeseburgers exclusively, logs countless hours riding around in cars and never so much as skims a gym contract) is explained, basically, as "born this way". I am very very sorry to be unable to recommend this book.

Read More Hide me

11 of 12 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews