• by Elaine Macko
  • Narrated by Michelle Babb
  • 7 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Having secrets can sometimes get you nailed! Alex Harris thinks finding a place to celebrate her one-year anniversary sounds like a good idea, but when her husband arrests her sister for murder she has some serious thoughts about staying married to the guy!
Her sister Samantha is clearly keeping a secret and refuses to give the police an alibi, but when she asks Alex to help solve the crime and clear her name, Alex is only too happy to jump in and prove her husband wrong. And then the police turn their attention to Samantha's husband - another suspect with no alibi.
Could her sister or brother-in-law really have killed a local building inspector over his refusal to pass their new sunroom addition? Alex doesn't think so and sets her sights on several others who had more than a good reason to nail the guy. Something sinister is going on in this coastal New England town where the bodies seem to be piling up. Fans of Janet Evanovich and Cleo Coyle will love this series.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Light Beach Read - Family Centric Mystery

In this story, an unlikable character gets killed and nearly everyone is suspect. I love when authors can take a serious subject such as murder and present it with both the seriousness it deserves and with levity. Author Elaine Macko carries this out with finesse by injecting functional and dysfunction-- all very realistic-- relationship issues in to a rather fun reading/listening experience. Clever quips, quirky relationship toggles, and mutually nulling affects of pitting self-flagellation against self-justification, keep all the backstories bobbing in along with the progression of this "who done it. Macko keeps it a light and fun and packed with family interactions (there's even a pet), thus making a nice contribution to the genre.

Narrator Michelle Babb does a great job with both male and female voices. There is one comment: For all characters, she injects pauses into her flow of speech that seem incongruous to what I would consider the natural flow of speech. I get the impression Babb's broken cadence is an issue of deliberate style rather than an inadvertent flaw. Either way, I found it distracting and, by the time I finally got used to it, I had nearly reached the end of the book.

This audiobook was provided by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review. Thank you Audiobook Boom.
Read full review

- espanolish ""It is the business of the times to change...and the business of gentlemen to change with them." ~Amor Towles in "Rules of Civility""


Any additional comments?

Nailed is well worth a listen. This is a standalone audiobook I had not read any of the previous seven books and had no trouble keeping track of the characters, nor did I feel like I was missing important information that may have been in the other books.

I received a review copy for my honest review

Read full review

- med c

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-09-2016
  • Publisher: Elaine Macko