Regular price: $24.49

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Earl of Wrexford possesses a brilliant scientific mind, but boredom and pride lead him to reckless behavior. He does not suffer fools gladly. So when pompous, pious Reverend Josiah Holworthy publicly condemns him for debauchery, Wrexford unsheathes his rapier-sharp wit and strikes back. As their war of words escalates, London's most popular satirical cartoonist, A. J. Quill, skewers them both. But then the clergyman is found slain in a church - his face burned by chemicals, his throat slashed ear to ear - and Wrexford finds himself the chief suspect.
An artist in her own right, Charlotte Sloane has secretly slipped into the persona of her late husband, using his nom de plume, A. J. Quill. When Wrexford discovers her true identity, she fears it will be her undoing. But he has a proposal - use her sources to unveil the clergyman's clandestine involvement in questionable scientific practices and unmask the real murderer. Soon Lord Wrexford and the mysterious Mrs. Sloane plunge into a dangerous shadow world hidden among London's intellectual enclaves to trap a cunning adversary - before they fall victim to the next experiment in villainy.
©2017 Andrea DaRif (P)2017 HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Mystery Maven on 10-22-17

Great new series!

Fascinating incorporation of Regency scientific developments coupled with believable characters you'll love to root for. Steeped in the historical period, the story has the perfect balance of plot, action and suspense. Fans of Anne Perry, Will Thomas, and Victorian Thompson will be delighted, This is a must read.

Read More Hide me

35 of 35 people found this review helpful


By Amazon Customer on 07-15-17

Fantastic English Mystery!

Excellent story. Mystery was tight and just the right pace for an old-fashioned English mystery. Loved the characters and their interactions. Romance was no more than a whisper of possibility. I so look forward to the next book by this author!

Read More Hide me

74 of 76 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc