Murder at the House of Rooster Happiness

  • by David Casarett
  • Narrated by Kristin Kalbli
  • 9 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Meet Ladarat Patalung - the first and only nurse detective in Thailand.
Two nights ago a young woman brought her husband into the emergency room of the Sriphat Hospital in Thailand, where he passed away. A guard thinks she remembers her coming in before but with a different husband - one who also died.
Ladarat Patalung, for one, would have been happier without a serial murderer - if there is one - loose in her hospital. Then again, she never expected to be a detective in the first place.
And now Ladarat has no choice but to investigate.
The first novel in a captivating new series by David Casarett, MD.


What the Critics Say

"I love this book. It's not only a killer mystery, but it also introduces a uniquely appealing central character and gives us a warm and accurate look into the Thai heart." (Timothy Hallinan, author of the Junior Bender mysteries and the Poke Rafferty Bangkok thrillers)
"A charming mystery...a delight." (Vaseem Khan, author of the Baby Ganesh Detective Agency series)
"Appealing." (Kirkus)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Sweet Cozy, Exotic locale

I was charmed by this book. I enjoyed the main character, a nurse ethicist, and really liked learning about Thailand. I didn't realize there was a smile that meant "I know I owe you money, but I'm not going to pay you." I think fans of Colin Cotterill will enjoy The House of Rooster Happiness. I am and I did and I'll download the next in the series. Can't say fairer than that.

Light and fun, just slightly iterative in a few spots--Recommend.
Read full review

- Margaret


I enjoyed this quite a bit and look forward to more in the series. The characters were interesting and likable and the various mysteries were engaging. The setting was a new one for me and I enjoyed reading the author's interpretation of Vietnam.
Read full review

- Genevieve Paquette

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-19-2016
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio