Murder Most Malicious : A Lady and Lady's Maid

  • by Alyssa Maxwell
  • Narrated by Ellen Archer
  • Series: A Lady and Lady's Maid
  • 9 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In post-World War I England, Lady Phoebe Renshaw and her lady's maid, Eva Huntford, step outside of their social roles and put their lives at risk to apprehend a vicious killer....
December 1918: As a difficult year draws to a close, there is much to celebrate for 19-year-old Phoebe Renshaw and her three siblings at their beloved family estate of Foxwood Hall. The dreadful war is finally over; eldest daughter Julia's engagement to their houseguest, the marquis of Allerton, appears imminent; and all have gathered to enjoy peace on Earth, goodwill toward men.
But the peace of Foxwood Hall is shattered on the morning of Boxing Day, when the marquis goes missing. Not entirely missing, however, as macabre evidence of foul play turns up in gift boxes given to lady's maid Eva Huntford and a handful of others. Having overheard her sister and the marquis in a heated exchange the night before, Lady Phoebe takes a personal interest in solving the mystery.
As the local constable suspects a footman at Foxwood Hall, Phoebe and Eva follow the clues to a different conclusion. But both young women will need to think outside the box to wrap up this case - before a cornered killer lashes out with ill will toward them....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I just skipped to the end.

The cop was stupid and mean. The girls fantasized about bulging chests and handsome faces. The real victims were servants. And, worst of all it went on and on. Finally I just couldn't take it anymore.
Read full review

- Charleen

Fun and distracting

Any additional comments?

As I've said in my other reviews - I listen to cozy mysteries to keep my mind off of how much I hate exercising. This one did the trick. Its a bit contrived, but not boring. The mystery is interesting enough.

Read full review

- Caroline Breheny

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-01-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios