Regular price: $17.47

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $17.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Leaving her ex-husband and old job in San Francisco, attorney Nina Reilly opens a practice in Lake Tahoe hoping to start life over. As she waits for a big case, Nina decides to help Misty Patterson divorce her abusive husband. When said husband is found murdered, Nina agrees to defend Misty against murder charges. But Misty's defense isn't easy - there are big blank spots in Misty's memory, she has a tendency toward promiscuity, and there is some very damning circumstantial evidence. Where does the truth lie? Is Misty a clever liar, a victim of some early trauma, or is she simply manipulated by others? Does someone else control the strings of Misty's life? Misty just wants to know the truth. And Nina wants justice.
(P)2008 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Snoodely on 10-09-12

Legally Soap

The O'Shaughnessy sisters skate dangerously close to the romance genre with their Nina Reilly series. The novels have most of the qualifying romance elements, including the tall, hunky, blonde bad-boy totally in love with the tiny, beautiful, intelligent lawyer, who resists his love and her own longing for him. Fortunately, excellent writing; fascinating, innovative plots; and intelligent, exciting court scenes save this series from the romance category. The Nina Reilly series definitely falls into the legal thriller category, and makes a significant contribution to it. I am greatly enjoying listening to the entire series again in chronological order. It seems to me that each novel gets better than the last. That implies, of course, that this first novel in the series, "Motion to Suppress," is the least satisfying of the lot. None-the-less, this audiobook still rates five stars. Pamela and Mary O'Shaughnessy have initiated a wonderful legal soap opera with "Motion to Suppress." Here we meet Nina Reilly, toiling away in a San Francisco law firm, in an unsatisfactory marriage, raising a lovable eleven-year-old boy, who has a mysterious, absent father. The end of her marriage prompts Nina to move to beautiful Lake Tahoe, where she bravely establishes her own law firm. Her very first case begins the exciting adventures of Nina Reilly, esq. You will enjoy meeting her tough, assertive legal secretary, Sandy Whitefeather — a member of the Washoe nation — and her above-mentioned hunky investigator, Paul Van Wagoner. The narrator of this series, Laural Merlington, does a good job reading the stories. She has a nice, mature, versatile voice, which she uses skillfully to distinguish the characters, especially the men. As the previous reviewers have said, you can listen to these Nina Reilly audiobooks in any order; but I am discovering as I listen to them again in order, that doing so does enhance the enjoyment of this series. I recommend starting here, with "Motion to Suppress," and then listening to each of the novels in order.

Read More Hide me

18 of 19 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Siobhan on 01-24-09

Wonderful writing, as Always

This is part of a series, and you can start in any order you wish. I' found a few of these before, but this is my first audible book. I love the narrator, I love the authors' styles of writing. I'd recommend these books to anyone who loves thrillers and great suspense

Read More Hide me

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews