Monster : Alex Delaware

  • by Jonathan Kellerman
  • Narrated by Alexander Adams
  • Series: Alex Delaware
  • 13 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Alex Delaware is back! And in Jonathan Kellerman's riveting and ingenious new novel, Monster, he faces one of the most grisly and baffling mysteries of his career: How can a nonfunctional psychotic locked up in a supposedly secure institution for homicidal madmen predict brutal murders in the outside world? Delaware and his friend and partner, Detective Milo Sturgis, must penetrate this enigma in order to stop the horrific killings.
A marginal actor is found dead in a car trunk, sawn in half. Months later, a psychologist at a hospital for the criminally insane is discovered murdered and mutilated in a tantalizingly similar way. When reports of an inmate's incoherent ramblings begin to make frightening sense as predictions of yet more slayings, Delaware and Sturgis are drawn into a web of family secrets, vengeance, and manipulation - both inside the asylum and on the streets of L.A., where death, drugs, and sex are marketed as commodities. The climactic discovery they make as they race to prevent more killings gives fresh and terrifying meaning to the concept of monstrosity.
With Monster's incomparably deft characterizations and dazzlingly dark plot twists, Jonathan Kellerman further enhances his literary position as master of the psychological thriller.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

not a new release

This book was actually available in audio back in the late 1990's - like 1998. If you are use to the new reading and style of an Alex Delaware read, don't purchase. It's a terrible version.
Read full review

- Sue

Editing horrible

What disappointed you about Monster?

Bad editing. Will repeat lines twice in many chapters. Happened at least 10 times so far and I am only on chapter 20. Cover says read by John Rubinstein but actually read by Alexander Adams.

Read full review

- Alyssa

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-31-2009
  • Publisher: Random House Audio