Missing, Presumed

  • by Susie Steiner
  • Narrated by Juanita McMahon
  • 12 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For listeners of Kate Atkinson and Tana French comes a pause-resisting literary mystery that brings to life the complex and wholly relatable Manon Bradshaw, a strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing person case.
At 39, Manon Bradshaw is a devoted and respected member of the Cambridgeshire police force, and though she loves her job, what she longs for is a personal life. Single and distant from her family, she wants a husband and children of her own. One night, after yet another disastrous Internet date, she turns on her police radio to help herself fall asleep - and receives an alert that sends her to a puzzling crime scene.
Edith Hind - a beautiful graduate student at Cambridge University and daughter of the surgeon to the Royal Family - has been missing for nearly 24 hours. Her home offers few clues: a smattering of blood in the kitchen, her keys and phone left behind, the front door ajar but showing no signs of forced entry. Manon instantly knows that this case will be big - and that every second is crucial to finding Edith alive.
The investigation starts with Edith's loved ones: her attentive boyfriend, her reserved best friend, her patrician parents. As the search widens and press coverage reaches a frenzied pitch, secrets begin to emerge about Edith's tangled love life and her erratic behavior leading up to her disappearance. With no clear leads, Manon summons every last bit of her skill and intuition to close the case, and what she discovers will have shocking consequences not just for Edith's family but for Manon herself.
Suspenseful and keenly observed, Missing, Presumed is a brilliantly twisting novel of how we seek connection, grant forgiveness, and reveal the truth about who we are.

More

What the Critics Say

"An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George." (Joseph Finder, author of The Fixer)
"A vein of dark humor pulses beneath this compelling whodunit with an appealing, complicated heroine at its center." (Publishers Weekly)
"A highly charismatic and engaging story.... This novel stands out from the pack." (Kirkus Reviews)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A mystery lover's treat!

This is one of those books I couldn't put down, but didn't want it to end. I did read on Amazon that this author's next book is about this same character, which makes me feel a lot better - I don't want to say goodbye to her!

I can't say enough good things about this book. The characters are real, and at times very funny. I laughed out loud a lot! They're also full of issues, longing, vulnerability, and they tend to kick themselves around a bit, especially the main character.

The narration was superb. There are men's voices, women's voices, and children's voices, and everyone has a lovely British accent. With this book, the narration enhanced the story - which is often not the case with audiobooks. I haven't enjoyed narration so much since I finished "The Help" and "Angela's Ashes."

This book is on a par with those written by Tana French and Robert Galbraith. I wait eagerly for their next books, and this author has been added to that list.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Smart, Engaging Suspense with a dash of good humor

What made the experience of listening to Missing, Presumed the most enjoyable?

I loved this audiobook. The main characters make a great team. Each has his or her own story to tell. The mystery itself was multilayered and kept me interested to the end.


What did you like best about this story?

The characters are vivid, fallible, human. I loved that these finely-drawn figures were so true-to-life.


Which character – as performed by Juanita McMahon – was your favorite?

My favorite character is Manon Bradshaw, the spunky detective who leads the charge on the case of the missing Edith Hind. She is smart when it comes to police work, but touchingly less savvy in her love life, where she longs to find Mr. Right and leaps into the world of online dating to locate that one person who she can be herself with. Ultimately, does being herself lead to disaster or are the suitors lacking the special main ingredient?


Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

The book made me laugh out loud many times, especially at the escapades of Manon and her team.


Any additional comments?

The mystery of the missing girl, with ties to royalty and a seemingly loyal family, loving boyfriend and doting best friend, is brought together by the author's fleshing out the mystery using multiple points of view and different character's stories. The dark humor running through the story is a delight. I liked this book so much that I bought it for my best friend, because she reminds me so much of Manon. Great, seamless and enjoyable narration. I highly recommend "Missing, Presumed."

Read full review

- MarisaReads

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-28-2016
  • Publisher: Random House Audio