Regular price: $10.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $10.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Curator Dr. Louisa Hancock left behind Maine and her troubled past for Philadelphia and a job at a prominent museum. Just when it seems that Louisa’s new life is safe from her dark secrets, the body of a museum intern is found - the victim of a brutal and baffling murder.
Louisa realizes this is no random crime. And when another intern goes missing, the abduction is linked to the only man who has ever tempted Louisa’s heart - Conor Sullivan, the sexy owner of a Philly sports bar. Louisa’s past has taught her to be wary, but her heart refuses to believe Conor is guilty.
Now Conor and Louisa must dodge a police investigation - and their growing desire - as they race to find the real killer before another girl turns up dead. But trusting Conor could be deadly, especially as the evidence against him mounts…and as a merciless killer targets Louisa as the next victim.
©2014 Melinda Leigh (P)2014 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Wayne on 04-07-16

Not very good!

Midnight Betrayal is a disappointing mystery. Mikael Naramore is an excellent narrator but is a bad selection for this material. There will be no more Melinda Leigh books for me.

Read More Hide me

7 of 9 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By JC on 10-06-14

Loved This Book

Any additional comments?

I will be looking for more books from this author in the future. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Besides a good romance, it was a great murder mystery. I usually guess the culprit by at least the 3/4 mark. Most of the time it's much sooner though. But this book went all the was to end and I didn't guess. There was lots of suspense and a great twist at the end and both the H and H were good strong characters with lots of chemistry. The sex could have maybe been a little hotter but the way it is doesn't lessen how much I liked it.

The narrator was really good. The male and female voices were good and distinctive and the acting was superb. You wont be sorry trading a credit for this one.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By martine mcd on 04-04-16

thoughley enjoyed this book!!

I have read a lot of her books and was not let down with this one either, really good read

Read More Hide me
3 out of 5 stars
By Susan on 03-16-16

Prob need to read previous book to enjoy this one.

This is the third in the series and I think it would be better to read in series order. There was a lot of back story that was skimmed over, including how the H and h met, and it did feel a bit like I was starting a story with the first few chapters missing. They had both been connected to a theft and murder six months previously and it was strange that this was all just “background” to the opening chapters.

The author is obviously a talented writer but I think this is one of her earlier efforts and it shows. The plot holes are massive and distracting.

For example:

• Based on one murder, police decide they have a “serial killer”

• They assume a missing college student is the second victim of this “serial killer”, even though she has only been missing 12 hours, and there is no evidence she has even been hurt, let alone killed.

• Police ignore her drunken, rejected boyfriend who had sent her several abusive and threatening text messages, and decide the prime suspect is the barman who gave her a lift to the local subway.

• The police manage to get a search warrant for the barman's flat, on the implication that he apparently hurt and/or killed the missing girl there, in the few minutes after the bar closed, but before they have CCTV showing him with the girl near the subway! (???).

• They threaten him with handcuffs, take him to the police station, lock him in a cell with violent prisoners, read him his “rights” but then, apparently, don’t actually charge him with anything. But nevertheless release his details to the press as prime suspect in the murder of a girl who has still only actually been missing less than 24 hours.

His lawyer tells him that it is possible they could convict him of murder on this circumstantial evidence alone. But there is no circumstantial evidence - no body, no proof the girl has even been hurt, and a timeline that makes it impossible for him to have done anything!

Throughout this we have an unconvincing romance. Although they had met six months previously and apparently thought about each other non stop ever since, the H thinks they are from “different worlds” (he is a bar owner, she has a trust fund) and the h has socialising issues based on her lonely childhood and some trauma hinted at often but I didn’t get to the details. It was all just a bit boring. The plot moved at a snail’s pace which gives the listener plenty of time to dwell on the factual errors and since the H and h had met six months previously but since gone their separate ways the romance was lacking in spark. The writer focused a bit too much on unnecessary details – the exact street names they are walking or driving on, the models of the cars they park between, the menu choices they order. So much of this detail was unnecessary and added nothing to the plot or atmosphere.

I didn’t finish this book. It wasn’t really bad, just didn’t hold my interest enough to make me want to continue. I have read and loved later books by the same writer, but this series will not get more credits from me.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Pamala Barnett on 09-03-17

Easy read.

Liked the characters and the narrator was excellent. Easy and relaxing read, keeps you on your toes though.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews