• by Margot Livesey
  • Narrated by Derek Perkins, Nicol Zanzarella
  • 9 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A taut emotional thriller about love, obsession, and the secrets that pull a family apart.
Donald believes he knows all there is to know about seeing. An optician in suburban Boston, he rests assured that he and his wife, Viv, who works at the local stables, will live out quiet lives with their two children. Then Mercury - a gorgeous young racehorse - enters their lives, and everything changes.
Viv's friend, Hilary, has inherited Mercury from her brother after his mysterious death - he was riding Mercury late one afternoon, and the horse returned to the stables alone. When Hilary first brings Mercury to board at the stables, everyone there is struck by his beauty and prowess, particularly Viv. As she rides him, Viv dreams of competing with Mercury, rebuilding the ambitions of grandeur that she held for herself before moving to the suburbs.
But her daydreams soon morph into consuming desire, and her infatuation with the thoroughbred quickly escalates to obsession. By the time Donald understands the change that has come over Viv, it is too late to stop the impending fate that both their actions have wrought for them and their loved ones.
A beautifully crafted, riveting novel about the ways in which relationships can be disrupted and ultimately destroyed by obsession, secrets, and ever-escalating lies.


What the Critics Say

"[Narrators] Perkins and Zanzarella deliver convincing performances as a violent act brings devastation in this convoluted drama, which is less about a horse than about the erosion of trust due to secrets, lies, and willful blindness. Intense listening." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellent! Great narration.

Fast paced story about ordinary lives. I couldn't stop listening. If you enjoy Franzen novels you will love this book.
Read full review

- Gabrielle Britton

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-27-2016
  • Publisher: HarperAudio