Mercenaries : The Conquest Trilogy

  • by Jack Ludlow
  • Narrated by Jonathan Keeble
  • Series: The Conquest Trilogy
  • 9 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Six brothers, trained since birth to become great warriors, prepare to experience their first taste of battle.... The Norman/French border, 1033. The sons of Tancred de Hauteville are following in their father’s footsteps.
As knights, they have but one true purpose: to fight. But denied service with their Duke, they are forced to take employment as mercenaries: their unequalled battle skills are for hire to the highest bidder.
Victory and defeat, betrayal and revenge combine as the desperation to rule the wealthy Norman lands becomes an intense battle, testing even the strongest of ties.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Conquest Trilogy - first book

A book well suited to the audio format. The reader is a neutral voice with good management of character and variation of tone; a very competent, enjoyable effort.

The tale is set just before the time of William the Conqueror and it evokes the day to day of that period without being bogged down in pointless descriptive detail. Many of the characters actually lived, and the events follow, to some degree, events of that time.

The book stands on its own, mostly. It finishes with a tease for ongoing action, but this doesn't detract from it being a pleasant experience for those who like lite reading of stories set in those days. But it is book one of three, so you may be committed to all to see how the longer story unfolds.
Read full review

- Paul McMahon "mcmap"


This is an EXCELLENT book the writer did an amazing job with this story and I look forward to getting the rest of the books in this series.
Read full review

- Kristine

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-18-2010
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books