Luck and Judgement : DC Smith

  • by Peter Grainger
  • Narrated by Gildart Jackson
  • Series: DC Smith
  • 11 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When a worker goes missing from a North Sea gas platform, there seem to be just two possible explanations - it was a tragic accident or a suicide. It does not take Smith and his detectives long, however, to discover that James Bell led a double life back onshore in Kings Lake, a life complicated enough to make him at least one dangerous enemy. Before the case can be unraveled, Smith must get a new team working together; Waters and Murray are still there, but one of Wilson's men is transferred to him, and the female detective constable from Longmarsh poses some unexpected problems for her new sergeant. Together they begin to investigate the links between the companies and the people that bring ashore the oil and gas, and they also find themselves caught up in the seamier side of life that exists beneath Lake's everyday comings and goings. Jo Evison begins to delve more deeply into the story of the Andretti murders, and Smith himself has to face the fact that he might no longer be considered fit for duty.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

An unexpected, very good series

I am always on the lookout for British Crime Mysteries, so I bought the first of this series because it was the daily deal last week. So glad I did! I went on to read all three books. This has a very Midsommer Murders feel about it. The older inspector, Smith, is very likable and the supporting characters are intriguing. The stories appear predictable but there is always a nice twist toward the end of the book that makes it well worth reading. If you're looking for a good British detective series without the true crime gore, this is highly recommended.
Read full review

- Customer

What a find!

I stumbled onto this series when the first book came up as a special offer. Now I will be impatiently waiting for the fourth. Narrator is a great fit, and, if there is NOT a fourth book I will really miss these characters!.Very well written detective story.
Read full review

- Marianna J. Groth

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-08-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio