Lost in the Light

  • by Mary Castillo
  • Narrated by Mary Castillo
  • 8 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

One October morning in 1932, Vicente Sorolla entered the white house on the hill and was never seen again.
Now, Detective Dori Orihuela witnesses his brutal murder in her nightmares.
Drawn to this tough but tender woman, Vicente materializes out of the butler's pantry and asks her to find his lost love, Anna. Dori wonders if she's not only about to lose her badge, but also her sanity. Dori has always been drawn to the mysterious Queen Anne Edwardian house in her hometown. But after a devastating injury that puts her career on the line, Dori isn't sure if she made the right decision purchasing this rundown old mansion.
Her wisecracking Grammy Cena has waited too long for her independent granddaughter to return home. She hires a kooky psychic to banish the ghost and a handsome contractor with whom Dori has an unhappy past. With a promise to Vicente, Dori may solve a forgotten Prohibition era murder. Or she may exhume secrets someone died to protect.
A modern gothic mystery woven with suspense, ghosts, and romance, Lost in the Light was nominated for the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Paranormal Mystery/Suspense.
Fans of Susanna Kearsley, Simone St. James, Diana Gabaldon, Mary Stewart, Kate Morton, and Victoria Holt will want to curl up with Dori on her journey to love, past and present.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A fun escapist read

Would you try another book from Mary Castillo and/or Mary Castillo?

Yes, I would. I think she's a talented storyteller.


What other book might you compare Lost in the Light to and why?

The mirroring storylines kind of reminded me of "The Longest Ride" by Nicholas Sparks if there'd been bootlegging and prohibition.


Would you listen to another book narrated by Mary Castillo?

Yes, but I think she needs to check her editing a bit closer. Her storytelling ability is wonderful, but the recording had repeats, feedback, and background noises.


Could you see Lost in the Light being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

Yes. Justina Machado as Dori and Diego Luna as Vicente.


Any additional comments?

I received this book from the author as part of a blog tour. The opinions are my own.

This was a really fun story. I like the mystery, the characters, and even the two romances. Dori was a fun main character, and I thought her unintentional friendship and kinship with ghost Vicente was fun in a Ghost and Mrs. Muir kind of way. Finding out the truth of what happened to Vicente was heartbreaking. I loved all of Dori's friends and relatives. They were all easy to tell apart and added so much humor to the story.

I got the audiobook via Audible, and it was read by the author. She did a good job telling the story, but the editing of the audiobook left something to be desired. There were moments where she repeated herself, there was background noise, and sometimes weird static that was very jarring. But overall, it was a great read, and I really enjoyed it.

Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Team Grammy Cena!

Wow, that’s all I can say, what a book! Dori is a police detective recovering from an injury that puts the badge she wears in jeopardy. Needing an outlet Dori buys an old house in her hometown, determined to slowly bring it back to life.

Unfortunately for Dori, that’s not the only thing to come to “life” in the old home. Vincent a prohibition era ghost enlist Dori to help him figure out what happened to his long-lost love, and just maybe along the way Dori will help solve a long-ago murder… If she's not declared crazy first.

Lost in the Light will make you feel sad, anxious and laugh out loud. I especially got a kick out of Grammy Cena, she’s the MVP of the book in my opinion.

Mary Castillo wrote and narrated this 8 ½ hour audiobook. I know what you’re thinking! "Lynda, I thought you never listen to audiobooks read by the author!" I know, I know, but the premise of the book sounded so intriguing to me and Mary did such a wonderful job on the sample, I decided to take a chance, and I’m glad I did! Mary was outstanding, she voiced so many different characters with a variety of accents including the character Meg, who was British! All of the characters in this audiobook were done well.

If you are looking for a different type of book that is part ghost tale, murder mystery and love story, you’ve stumbled across a gem of a book. Enjoy!

This audiobook was gifted to me exchange for an unbiased review!
Read full review

- Audio Audits

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-26-2017
  • Publisher: Reina Books