Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

One October morning in 1932, Vicente Sorolla entered the white house on the hill and was never seen again.
Now, Detective Dori Orihuela witnesses his brutal murder in her nightmares.
Drawn to this tough but tender woman, Vicente materializes out of the butler's pantry and asks her to find his lost love, Anna. Dori wonders if she's not only about to lose her badge, but also her sanity. Dori has always been drawn to the mysterious Queen Anne Edwardian house in her hometown. But after a devastating injury that puts her career on the line, Dori isn't sure if she made the right decision purchasing this rundown old mansion.
Her wisecracking Grammy Cena has waited too long for her independent granddaughter to return home. She hires a kooky psychic to banish the ghost and a handsome contractor with whom Dori has an unhappy past. With a promise to Vicente, Dori may solve a forgotten Prohibition era murder. Or she may exhume secrets someone died to protect.
A modern gothic mystery woven with suspense, ghosts, and romance, Lost in the Light was nominated for the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Paranormal Mystery/Suspense.
Fans of Susanna Kearsley, Simone St. James, Diana Gabaldon, Mary Stewart, Kate Morton, and Victoria Holt will want to curl up with Dori on her journey to love, past and present.
©2012 Mary Castillo (P)2016 Mary Castillo
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By KateB on 12-10-17

Spellbounding

This book kept me on the edge of my char. the writing, the atmosphere, the mystery was great. I couldn't put it down until I finished.

The characters were very well written, the plot was wonderful with the twists and turns. I enjoyed the parallel stories of Dori and Vicente. I was captivated how the story of Dori's discovery of Vincente's fate unfolded. I'm looking forward to listening to the next book. Mary Castillo's narration added a special touch to the whole experience.

Highly recommended

I received this audiobook at no-cost from Audiobookworm Promotions. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Mary on 10-27-17

An Haunted House/Ghost Story



Dori is a police officer who's recovering emotionally and physically from from an officer involved shooting, where she shot and killed a crazed gun toting young mother.

While Dori is on leave she buys an old historical house that she is drawn to. The house is haunted by Vincent a probation era gangster who was brutally murdered in the house. Vincent appears to Dori and implores her to investigate what happened to the love of Vincent's life, Anna.

Dori has a zany, quirky grandmother, Grammy Cena who really makes this novel and adds comic relief.

The story is an okay listen and has promise for an entertaining series. The narration is also well done.

I received this audiobook at no-cost from Audiobookworm Promotions. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc