Lost and Gone Forever : Scotland Yard's Murder Squad

  • by Alex Grecian
  • Narrated by John Curless
  • Series: Scotland Yard's Murder Squad
  • 10 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Many changes have happened to the Murder Squad. Rash actions have cost Sergeant Nevil Hammersmith his job, and in response he has set up his own private detective agency. Inspector Walter Day has been missing for a year, and no one knows where he is - though there is a strong suspicion that Saucy Jack has him. Hammersmith has made finding Day his primary case, and he has company - a pair of bounty hunters, a man and a woman. It is only gradually that he has come to realize that they are not what they seem....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Gruesome as ever

Finding a good detective story without sex and swearing is difficult. I suppose I can bend to a little gruesomeness. That said, this book is very well done and ties up many loose ends left over from the previous book. Grecian never seems to run out of new monsters with which to unnerve us and he leaves us in a good place to bring about a particularly troubling one for his next book. I am glad that he does not play a "Game of Thrones" with us by killing off our heroes, but he still leaves us unsettled from the loss of one of his characters. I only wish he had not taken the one he did or irritate us with male insensitivity toward women. It is barely tolerable that the heroes are slow to pick up clues and lag behind the villains until the very end, but to compound it with male stupidity pushes tolerance to its limits.

Grecian sets a consistent tone throughout his books and the narration of John Curless is excellent in expanding the mood. His narration of Jack is marvelously creepy.
Read full review

- Gregory A. Newkirk

Lose ends

I can't wait to see where Grecian will proceed but i hope he ties up some lose ends. Maybe he never will. I loved every bit of it
Read full review

- Alex Chapman

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-17-2016
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio