Lost Empire : Fargo Adventures

  • by Clive Cussler
  • Narrated by Scott Brick
  • Series: Fargo Adventures
  • 12 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Sam and Remi Fargo, heroes of Spartan Gold, return in this extraordinary new adventure from the number-one New York Times- bestselling author. With Spartan Gold, a daring thriller that Publishers Weekly proclaimed "solidly in the Cussler tradition, [and] sure to please new fans and old," Clive Cussler introduced husband-and-wife treasure-hunting team Sam and Remi Fargo. In their electrifying new adventure, the Fargos make a startling discovery that others would kill to keep hidden....
While scuba diving in Tanzania, Sam and Remi Fargo come upon a relic belonging to a long-lost Confederate ship. An anomaly about the relic sets them off chasing a mystery-but unknown to them, a much more powerful force is engaged in the same chase. Mexico's ruling party, the ultranationalist Mexica Tenochca, is intent on finding that artifact as well, because it contains a secret that could destroy the party utterly.
Through Tanzania and Zanzibar, into the rainforests of Madagascar, and across the Indian Ocean to Indonesia and the legendary site of the 1883 Krakatoa explosion, the Fargos and their ruthless opponents pursue the hunt-but only one can win. And the penalty for failure is death.Filled with the dazzling suspense and breathtaking action that are Cussler's trademarks, Lost Empire is a stunning new novel from the grand master of adventure.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This isn't Cussler's best work. The meandering plot at times gets lost in the historical details, interesting as they are. Sam and Remi are just too "precious" for my taste. Scott Brick has cleaned up a lot of his narrating flaws and does a good job.

Overall, the book was a bit boring.
Read full review

- Eva Gannon

Lost Along the Way

Having loved Cussler's book, Spartan Gold, which first introduced us to treasure hunters Sam and Remi Fargo, I was excited to embark on this second listen with this dynamic duo. In this tale, Sam and Remi find a relic left from an eccentric, yet brilliant, sea captain. This embroils them in a web of deceit. The current President of Mexico is erroneously campaigning that Mexico's roots began with the Aztec Empire. Sam and Remi must be silenced lest they divulge his lies, and our heros are now on their own mission to find the truth behind the story of this captain's ship, and it's watery grave using cryptography.

In Spartan Gold it was non-stop entertainment, traveling with them through their swashbuckling exploits in an Indiana Jones-type, thrill-a-minute adventure. Alas, I was disappointed with Cussler's second undertaking. This "book" gave me "whiplash." One minute the story was fun and action-packed. The next minute the lengthy, boring, overly-detailed narrative was putting me to sleep. Think Dan Brown on steroids. Cussler created a VERY complex plot in this book, which could have been great, but there were passages after passages of explanations of historical events, background information, science, anthropology, cryptography, and, of course, the details of the plot itself. WAY too much going on. Scott Brick (who did an admirable job with this difficult narration) was required to drone on and on and on and on... you get the idea.

Then the storyline would switch gears and Sam and Remi would get back to being treasure hunters, the role which makes them so endearing, and it would draw me back in. This back and forth pace of the book was frustrating. The slow parts made it very difficult for me to stay engrossed all the way through the listen.

On the positive side, if you would enjoy in-depth history of the Aztec Empire, keeping track of intricate plot details, and can handle umpteen chapters of tedious cryptography, you might really enjoy this book.
Read full review

- Joanna "Used to read classic lit for pleasure of well-written prose. Now, with MS, it's thrillers, courtroom/police dramas, and adventure to escape!"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-31-2010
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio