Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist!
We're going to tell our story and then it will all stop and Mummy will be safe. You want Mummy to be safe, don't you?
Three minutes. That's all it takes for Meredith's entire world to fall apart when she watches the videotape of her four-year-old self with Becca, the mother she's never known.
Meredith can't believe what her eyes have seen. Yet what if her memory has locked away the painful reality of her childhood? Can there be any truth in the strange and dangerous story her mother forced her to tell on camera?
The search for answers leads Meredith to Darkwater Pool, the scene of the murder of a young woman, Cara, over 30 years ago. What could possibly be the link between her mother and the victim?
To find the truth Meredith must search through a past that is not her own. The problem is, she's not the only one looking....
A dark, compulsive psychological thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Louise Jensen.
©2017 Jess Ryder (P)2017 Bookouture
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Cassandra on 05-23-17

Unique premise held up by good storytelling!

I enjoyed Lie to Me mainly for its characters. Each one, whether a minor player or one in a more "starring" role, was well-written to the extent that they all evoked some type of feeling In me, from minor dislike to sort of irritating, to "wow,she reminds me of myself!" Or noticing an appreciation for a good sense of humor. The story is told from different POVs, some positioned as historical to show the background - is there, after all, a lie? Who is behind the lie? And who is the liar trying to protect?

Sometimes our actions have terrible consequences despite our best intentions and most fervent beliefs, those we would fight to the death for. So many things get tarnished over time that no one can put the shiny back into it. For some, no justice can be found. And throughout the plot is the undercurrent of mental illness, and misunderstandings about what happens to those who live with it and the people closest to them.

Overall, well-done, highly readable and enjoyable. The characters often had a flair for the dramatic, not over the top, but appropriate to showcase how the mystery develops. I look forward to seeing more of Jess Ryder's work on Audible and I recommend "Lie to Me."

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful


By Sara on 06-21-17

Good story, Narrator was a bit distracting

If you could sum up Lie to Me in three words, what would they be?

Mysterious, Curious, and Intriguing

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

I love a good mystery to solve in the present that has its roots in the past and when Meredith finds an old video tape in the loft she is drawn into an unsolved murder case that she has never heard of before. But as she watches her four year old self on the old VCR, she is shocked by the story her mother has coerced her into telling on camera and becomes determined to uncover the truth.

What aspect of Lorraine Coady’s performance would you have changed?

My one problem was with the narrator… there seemed to be background noise or heavy breathing… something. It was a bit distracting. I found myself trying to figure out the noise. I wasn't a fan of the narrator.... although I'm not sure if it was the narrator of what it was. There was some type of noise going on and it drove me batty!

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I loved the way I became very quickly wrapped up in this book. Jess Ryder has a wonderfully warm and engrossing writing style that just grabs you from the start. Just as you are fully invested in Meredith’s story though, the plot flips back in time where we meet Cara. We are aware that Cara is eventually murdered so it was very creepy watching the events that would gradually lead to her death. But who is telling the truth and why can’t Meredith remember more about her childhood with her mother?

Any additional comments?

There were plenty of plot twists here to keep my interest and I stayed up late into the night desperate to find out what secrets were about to be uncovered. I really liked her internal monologue and how there was so much emotion captured.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Clarence on 07-04-17

Meh!

What would have made Lie to Me better?

A better story and characters

What was most disappointing about Jess Ryder’s story?

Just a bit meh and jumpy, I kept tuning out as I was bored or lost track of where the story was trying to go.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

The narrator was good, just the content was rather dull and ill thought out

Read More Hide me

By Kelly on 06-13-17

Average

Struggled to get through it but the ending was good! Not as good as the silent wife which I listen to before this.

Read More Hide me

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc