Lie to Me

  • by Jess Ryder
  • Narrated by Lorraine Coady
  • 11 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist!
We're going to tell our story and then it will all stop and Mummy will be safe. You want Mummy to be safe, don't you?
Three minutes. That's all it takes for Meredith's entire world to fall apart when she watches the videotape of her four-year-old self with Becca, the mother she's never known.
Meredith can't believe what her eyes have seen. Yet what if her memory has locked away the painful reality of her childhood? Can there be any truth in the strange and dangerous story her mother forced her to tell on camera?
The search for answers leads Meredith to Darkwater Pool, the scene of the murder of a young woman, Cara, over 30 years ago. What could possibly be the link between her mother and the victim?
To find the truth Meredith must search through a past that is not her own. The problem is, she's not the only one looking....
A dark, compulsive psychological thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Louise Jensen.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Unique premise held up by good storytelling!

I enjoyed Lie to Me mainly for its characters. Each one, whether a minor player or one in a more "starring" role, was well-written to the extent that they all evoked some type of feeling In me, from minor dislike to sort of irritating, to "wow,she reminds me of myself!" Or noticing an appreciation for a good sense of humor. The story is told from different POVs, some positioned as historical to show the background - is there, after all, a lie? Who is behind the lie? And who is the liar trying to protect?

Sometimes our actions have terrible consequences despite our best intentions and most fervent beliefs, those we would fight to the death for. So many things get tarnished over time that no one can put the shiny back into it. For some, no justice can be found. And throughout the plot is the undercurrent of mental illness, and misunderstandings about what happens to those who live with it and the people closest to them.

Overall, well-done, highly readable and enjoyable. The characters often had a flair for the dramatic, not over the top, but appropriate to showcase how the mystery develops. I look forward to seeing more of Jess Ryder's work on Audible and I recommend "Lie to Me."
Read full review

- Cassandra

Can't Actually Recommend at Any Price

The beginning set up was interesting; it offered the potential for mystery and suspense. At some point after that, the story line drifted away from relevancy to just filling space. Many of the middle chapters could have been consolidated into one or two. The end picks up again, but there was never a level of suspense that typical "page turners" have. I was somewhat curious about the outcome, but mostly I just wanted to be done with it. I hung on in hopes of finding out what happened to Becca-the mother of the main character.

I almost always set my playback speed to 1.25. This book dragged so much in the middle I actually set it to 1.7. I didn't want to miss something important, yet I wanted to bypass the, "yada, yada, yada".

The narrator was pretty good and dealt well with the many voices. I only paid a few dollars for this book, so I don't feel ripped off. Still I can't recommend someone else fork over any money for this book when there are plenty out there that are inexpensive AND much better written.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-19-2017
  • Publisher: Bookouture