Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist!
We're going to tell our story and then it will all stop and Mummy will be safe. You want Mummy to be safe, don't you?
Three minutes. That's all it takes for Meredith's entire world to fall apart when she watches the videotape of her four-year-old self with Becca, the mother she's never known.
Meredith can't believe what her eyes have seen. Yet what if her memory has locked away the painful reality of her childhood? Can there be any truth in the strange and dangerous story her mother forced her to tell on camera?
The search for answers leads Meredith to Darkwater Pool, the scene of the murder of a young woman, Cara, over 30 years ago. What could possibly be the link between her mother and the victim?
To find the truth Meredith must search through a past that is not her own. The problem is, she's not the only one looking....
A dark, compulsive psychological thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Louise Jensen.
©2017 Jess Ryder (P)2017 Bookouture
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Cassandra on 05-23-17

Unique premise held up by good storytelling!

I enjoyed Lie to Me mainly for its characters. Each one, whether a minor player or one in a more "starring" role, was well-written to the extent that they all evoked some type of feeling In me, from minor dislike to sort of irritating, to "wow,she reminds me of myself!" Or noticing an appreciation for a good sense of humor. The story is told from different POVs, some positioned as historical to show the background - is there, after all, a lie? Who is behind the lie? And who is the liar trying to protect?

Sometimes our actions have terrible consequences despite our best intentions and most fervent beliefs, those we would fight to the death for. So many things get tarnished over time that no one can put the shiny back into it. For some, no justice can be found. And throughout the plot is the undercurrent of mental illness, and misunderstandings about what happens to those who live with it and the people closest to them.

Overall, well-done, highly readable and enjoyable. The characters often had a flair for the dramatic, not over the top, but appropriate to showcase how the mystery develops. I look forward to seeing more of Jess Ryder's work on Audible and I recommend "Lie to Me."

Read More Hide me

20 of 20 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Dana on 11-07-17

Just plain weird, and crazy people everywhere!

This started out to be a really cool concept - but then the second half of the book fell flat. I thought the author was leading up to something dramatic and interesting but then it ended up, well I don't want to spoil anything, ended up a bunch of uninteresting nothingness... The "twist", if you can call it that, was visible a mile away - so no surprise. I was hoping to be shocked and surprised as the story progressed but there were a few loose ends not tied up, and I was more like "huh?".
The narration was great, she put a lot of emotion where it mattered.

Read More Hide me

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Carl Delaney on 12-21-17

fantastic read<br />

Superb thriller, couldn't stop listening to the story. Great twists and an unexpecting ending!
recommend this book.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By Clarence on 07-04-17

Meh!

What would have made Lie to Me better?

A better story and characters

What was most disappointing about Jess Ryder’s story?

Just a bit meh and jumpy, I kept tuning out as I was bored or lost track of where the story was trying to go.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

The narrator was good, just the content was rather dull and ill thought out

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews