Regular price: $28.51

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the New York Times and USA Today best-selling author of The Silent Girls comes another unforgettable thriller set in Vermont's Northeast Kingdom, featuring Detective Sonja Test.
Even in a quiet Vermont town, unspeakable acts of the past can destroy the peace of the present.
In the remote, pastoral hamlet of Canaan, Vermont, a high-profile legal case shatters the town's sense of peace and community. Anger simmers. Fear and prejudice awaken. Old friends turn on each other. Violence threatens.
So when a young teenage girl is savagely murdered while babysitting at the house of the lead attorney in the case, Detective Sonja Test believes the girl's murder and the divisive case must be linked.
However, as the young detective digs deeper into her first murder case, she discovers sordid acts hidden for decades and learns that behind the town's idyllic facade of pristine snow lurks a capacity in some for great darkness and the betrayal of innocents. And Sonja Test, a mother of two, will do anything to protect the innocent.
©2015 Eric Rickstad (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
1 out of 5 stars
By L. O. Pardue on 09-12-15

Not a Good Story or Characters

I love to find a new series that I can get excited about for the future stories. Well, this wasn't it. In the end, the only character I cared about was the victim. The Detective, Sonja, was so "holier than thou" and unlikeable, I can't even understand why I listened until the end. The book summary stated "Sonja will do anything to protect the innocent". Well, I am not even convinced she is that good of a mother to her two children. Enough "judgement from me." I won't be listening to the sequel.

The narrator was not good with the male voices. Otherwise, I just feel neutral about the narration.

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Tim on 09-11-15

Ok mystery but couldn't stay with it

Maybe it was the weak plot, or holes, or trying to hard for a thriller. I got bored with the story and didn't finish it. Strangely not feeling like I am missing something.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc