Lestrade and the Sawdust Ring : Adventures of Lestrade (chronological order)

  • by M J Trow
  • Narrated by M J Trow
  • Series: Adventures of Lestrade (chronological order)
  • 7 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It is 1879, and the young Detective Sergeant Sholto Lestrade has his work cut out for him as he investigates mysterious goings-on at "Lord" George Sanger's Circus. First, the best juggler in Europe is shot in full view of a thousand people. Then Huge Hughie the dwarf dies an agonising death whilst performing the Ether Trick. Finally, the Great Bolus dies by swallowing the wrong sword. And all of this comes after two bodies are found with multiple slashes... As a trail of murder is laid amongst the llama droppings, the world's second greatest detective goes undercover to solve the mystery.


What the Critics Say

"Absolutely outrageous, absolutely hysterical." (Daily Telegraph)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good Story, Pity About The Narration

M J Trow gives a new slant on Conan Doyle's Lestrade.

Sergeant (later Inspector) Lestrade hunts a killer in Sanger's circus of Victorian times learning that "nothing is at it appears in a circus".

I have read this book before & enjoyed it so downloaded the audio version expecting the same pleasure. I don't know why the author decided to narrate his books but in my opinion it was a big mistake. M J Trow does not narrate his story well which is a great pity.

Read full review

- C. Swan

Interesting, well-written novel - poor narration

What made the experience of listening to Lestrade and the Sawdust Ring the most enjoyable?

The interesting story line, notable characters, and amusing dialog made this book enjoyable.

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of M J Trow?

Gideon Emery

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?


Any additional comments?

The narrator’s omnipresent, loud breathing was too much of a distraction from the story.

Read full review

- Linda Owen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-09-2008
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books