Larry Bond's Red Dragon Rising: Edge of War : Red Dragon Rising

  • by Larry Bond, Jim DeFelice
  • Narrated by Luke Daniels
  • Series: Red Dragon Rising
  • 11 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

CIA officer Mara Duncan is on assignment in bomb-torn Hanoi. Her task: Get scientist Josh MacArthur and a seven-year-old witness to Chinese atrocities in Vietnam out of the country safely. They are pursued by a relentless Chinese monk turned commando who can call on the entire Chinese secret service in Vietnam for help. Their escape is further complicated when SEALs, who are helping Mara, gun down Vietnamese soldiers, making them wanted by both China and Vietnam.
Meanwhile, U.S. Army Advisor Zeus Murphy is given an impossible task: Prevent the Chinese from landing on Vietnam’s coast. Heeding the President’s advice to "think outside the box", he concocts a daring mission into the heart of the Chinese fleet in the harbor at Hainan. This operation will go down in the annals of SpecWar history as either one of the most daring triumphs of all time or one of the most foolish suicide raids ever attempted.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Definitely a good listen. Larry Bond does a good job of brining you into the world. However, it is too short and I wanted to book to continue at the end.
Read full review

- Katrina M.

Could This Be Dragged Out Any Further?

Book 1 was great! A great read.

Book 2 picks up where Book 1 left off, but they still aren't out of Vietnam and (without giving anything else away) the pace of the story slows down to a crawl. Still interesting, but I was beginning to get annoyed.

To me, some of there characters acted differently from what was established in the first book as well. Some suddenly became dumber, some suddenly spoke Vietnamese fluently when they had issues before, etc.

Anyway, it was interesting enough that I'll still give the 3rd book a try. I hope the pace of the story picks up a bit!
Read full review

- DavidZeb

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-23-2010
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio