Knots and Crosses : Inspector Rebus

  • by Ian Rankin
  • Narrated by James Macpherson
  • Series: Inspector Rebus
  • 6 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

'And in Edinburgh of all places. I mean, you never think of that sort of thing happening in Edinburgh, do you...?' 'That sort of thing' is the brutal abduction and murder of two young girls. And now a third is missing, presumably gone to the same sad end. Detective Sergeant John Rebus, smoking and drinking too much, his own young daughter spirited away south by his disenchanted wife, is one of many policemen hunting the killer. And then the messages begin to arrive: knotted string and matchstick crosses - taunting Rebus with pieces of a puzzle only he can solve.


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

not as dark as his reputation

I've stayed away form Rankin previously because of his reputation for dark tales. While this was certainly not cozy, neither was it gruesome. Interesting character, narrative and atmosphere - almost in a league with PD James. If the other Rebus audiobooks are this engrossing, I'll soon use up my remaining annual credits - and between Rankin and McCall Smith, I'm developing an obsession to visit Edinburgh.

The narration was excellent, and looking ahead, I'm disappointed that Macpherson is not narrating the rest of the series.
Read full review

- connie

Good story well narrated

This is my first Ian Rankin book, and I enjoyed it enough to immediately buy his next one after I finished it. The story is original and interesting, and the narrator is excellent! He manages to tell the story with a fine Scottish accent that fits the setting of the story very well, and at the same time be clear enough to be easily understandable to me as a non-native English speaker.
Read full review

- Terje

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-21-2011
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited