Regular price: $13.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $13.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The book behind the major motion picture High and Low, King's Ransom is the 10th book in Ed McBain's 87th Precinct series. Here, McBain delivers the full-throttle action and suspense we have come to expect. When a wealthy businessman is faced with a kidnapping, the ransom could ruin his biggest deal ever - unless Detective Steve Carella can find the culprits before the kidnapping turns to murder.
©2011 Ed McBain (P)2012 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

“McBain has the ability to make every character believable - which few writers these days can do.” (Associated Press)
“McBain forces us to think twice about every character we meet… even those we thought we already knew." (The New York Times Book Review)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
1 out of 5 stars
By Candace Russell on 06-19-12

Seriously off

I'd previously read a couple of these 87th Precinct books that I thought were clever and entertaining (Fat Ollie's Book and Fiddlers). This one, though, is really awful. It seemed like nobody could think of a plan to deal with solving a kidnapping except by shaming a wealthy man into paying the ransom for another man's child. The police didn't seem to be doing anything other than abetting the kidnappers in collecting the ransom; not a stitch of actual police work or detection. The only suspense was whether the idiot police could manage to follow the kidnappers' instructions well enough to get the kid back. Fortunately the civilians took care of that matter themselves. Couple of cute twists in the end, but not worth wading through the muck to get there. I guess a lot of people liked the movie that was based on this, but I can only assume they had a bunch of really cute actors.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By BDHumbert on 08-18-17

Missed badly for me

While I have enjoyed all of the series I have listened too thus far, this story and the narration were just annoying

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc