Regular price: $5.69

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $5.69

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Faye Kellerman delivers an electrifying crime novel of suspense as a young man's obsessive investigation into his sister's death draws him into the path of a sadistic serial killer.
He went searching for the truth. Now a killer has found him.
The more you know, the more there is to fear....
Three years ago, 15-year-old Ellen Vicksburg went missing in the quiet town of River Remez, New Mexico. Ellen was kind, studious, and universally liked. Her younger brother, Ben, could imagine nothing worse than never knowing what happened to her - until, on the first anniversary of her death, he found her body in a shallow grave by the river's edge.
Ben, now 17, is relentlessly driven to find answers to Ellen's homicide. Police believe she was the victim of a psychopath known as the Demon. But Ben's analytical mind sees patterns that don't fit, tiny threads and clues that are derived from other unsolved murders he has researched. Despite his all-consuming push for a real solution to the crime, Ben has hit a wall until he gains an unlikely ally - the school's popular new girl, Ro Majors, who has secrets of her own. As the body count rises, a picture emerges of an adversary who is as cunning and methodical as he is deadly. And uncovering the truth may not be enough to keep Ben, Ro, and their loved ones safe from a twisted and fixated killer who has nothing left to lose.
©2017 Plot Line, Inc. (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Wayne on 10-02-17

I'm enjoying this novel, but wait until...

October 17, 2017 when all three parts will be available. The full book will also be released on that date.

Part 1 reads like a Young Adult (YA)/teen novel which is fine with me because I really like the genre. The protagonists are both 17 years old. I strongly suspect the YA nature of the novel will not change in Parts 2 & 3. Listeners who do mot like YA fiction probably will not enjoy this novel. Fans of Kellerman's Decker & Lazarus series will likely enjoy Killing Season.

Read More Hide me

5 of 6 people found this review helpful


By Kristina on 10-03-17

Disappointed

Young adult. Simplistic. Central character too perfect, no tension, too obvious girl, the teens are not monitored by parents (i.e. Mom lets girl stay in boyʻs bedroom for two hours with door closed - what?) Not what I expected from Kellerman. Wonʻt buy the next two.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc