Regular price: $34.96

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $34.96

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Editorial Reviews

Using coastal Mozambique as its picturesque backdrop, Tony Park fuses heart-stopping action and adventure with steamy romance in his wildly imaginative crowd-pleaser that chronicles the exploits of Alex Tremain and his band of modern-day pirates as they square off against Chinese triads, ivory smugglers, and international shipping magnates in their dogged pursuit of one last "big score".
Mark Davis’ authentic Australian twang and vivacious performance effortlessly capture the epic scope and cinematic quality of Park’s irresistibly fun, pulpy adventure.
Show More Show Less

Publisher's Summary

Simultaneous release of the eagerly awaited latest title from best-selling thriller writer, set in Mozambique and South Africa. Guaranteed to appeal to fans of Wilbur Smith and Beverley Harper. Alex Tremain is a pirate in trouble. The two women in his life - one of them his financial adviser, the other his diesel mechanic - have left him. He's facing a mounting tide of debts and his crew of modern-day buccaneers, a multi-national band of ex-military cut-throats, is getting restless. They don't all share his dream of going legit, but what Alex really wants is to re-open the five-star resort hotel which once belonged to his Portuguese mother and English father on the Island of Dreams, off the coast of Mozambique. A chance raid on a wildlife smuggling ship sets the Chinese triads after him and, to add to his woes, corporate lawyer Jane Humphries lands, literally, in his lap. Another woman is the last thing Captain Tremain needs right now - especially one whose lover is a ruthless shipping magnate backed up by a deadly bunch of contract killers.
Meanwhile Jane finds herself torn between the crooked but charming pirate and her coolly calculating millionaire boss, George Penfold. Both are passionate, and both are dangerous. What Alex really needs is one last big heist - something valuable enough to fulfil his dreams and set him and his men up for life. When the South African government makes a controversial decision to reinstitute the culling of elephants in its national parks, Alex finds the answer to his dilemma - three tonnes of ivory.
©2009 Tony Park (P)2009 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By kretin3 on 02-21-12

well worth the listen

Any additional comments?

Tony Park has got what it takes to keep you on the edge of your seat all the way through to the end. This is the second book I have listened to by this author and look forward to another becoming available soon. My only criticism would be the narrator. Mark Davis was superb in every way but one. Much of the story is set in Southern Africa and many of the names of the people and places are Afrikaans based and are pronounced a certain way. It would have made the story perfect if the narrator pronounced the names correctly.

Read More Hide me

27 of 30 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By Easy pezie on 07-11-15

Why?

Why ruin a wonderful book about Africa with filthy sex remarks and scenes. It would have been a great book with out the filth. For that reason I do not recommend it.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Tidymanuk on 12-11-09

Lovable Rogues, Elephants and Diamonds?

From the start to the thrilling conclusion, this book had me in suspence all the way. It has more twists and turns than a World Rallye course with just as much speed and excitment.
You get the lot here; adventure, passion, violence and compassion in abundance.
A truly well written, compelling book I couldn't stop listening to.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 01-10-15

Terrible voice, frightful reading

What a weird, stilted and annoying and finally unbearable way of reading: pronouncing the word "a" not as a short a (=uh) but always as the letter a. How unprofessional to run the reading straight over gaps in content (i.e. in the same chapter, the author switches subject completely) without an instant's pause, making comprehension of the story very tricky. And frankly the subject matter, when combined with that awful stilted hat reading, was not good enough to make me care what happened in the rest of the story. I stopped after the first part. You will understand that I do not recommend it!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc