• by Tony Park
  • Narrated by Mark Davis
  • 15 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Simultaneous release of the eagerly awaited latest title from best-selling thriller writer, set in Mozambique and South Africa. Guaranteed to appeal to fans of Wilbur Smith and Beverley Harper.Alex Tremain is a pirate in trouble. The two women in his life - one of them his financial adviser, the other his diesel mechanic - have left him. He's facing a mounting tide of debts and his crew of modern-day buccaneers, a multi-national band of ex-military cut-throats, is getting restless. They don't all share his dream of going legit, but what Alex really wants is to re-open the five-star resort hotel which once belonged to his Portuguese mother and English father on the Island of Dreams, off the coast of Mozambique. A chance raid on a wildlife smuggling ship sets the Chinese triads after him and, to add to his woes, corporate lawyer Jane Humphries lands, literally, in his lap. Another woman is the last thing Captain Tremain needs right now - especially one whose lover is a ruthless shipping magnate backed up by a deadly bunch of contract killers. Meanwhile Jane finds herself torn between the crooked but charming pirate and her coolly calculating millionaire boss, George Penfold. Both are passionate, and both are dangerous. What Alex really needs is one last big heist - something valuable enough to fulfil his dreams and set him and his men up for life. When the South African government makes a controversial decision to reinstitute the culling of elephants in its national parks, Alex finds the answer to his dilemma - three tonnes of ivory.


Audible Editor Reviews

Using coastal Mozambique as its picturesque backdrop, Tony Park fuses heart-stopping action and adventure with steamy romance in his wildly imaginative crowd-pleaser that chronicles the exploits of Alex Tremain and his band of modern-day pirates as they square off against Chinese triads, ivory smugglers, and international shipping magnates in their dogged pursuit of one last "big score".
Mark Davis’ authentic Australian twang and vivacious performance effortlessly capture the epic scope and cinematic quality of Park’s irresistibly fun, pulpy adventure.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

well worth the listen

Any additional comments?

Tony Park has got what it takes to keep you on the edge of your seat all the way through to the end. This is the second book I have listened to by this author and look forward to another becoming available soon. My only criticism would be the narrator. Mark Davis was superb in every way but one. Much of the story is set in Southern Africa and many of the names of the people and places are Afrikaans based and are pronounced a certain way. It would have made the story perfect if the narrator pronounced the names correctly.

Read full review

- kretin3

Outstanding again

This is the third book from Tony Park that I have listened too and all are great from the start to finish. Mark Davis does an outstanding job as the narrator for all the books. The accents are excellent I can't wait for another addition from Tony Park
Read full review

- Lia "I love all genres of books. However, when I listen to audio books as I clean, garden, drive they are better with a lot of heat!"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-04-2009
  • Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd