Invisible Prey : Lucas Davenport

  • by John Sandford
  • Narrated by Richard Ferrone
  • Series: Lucas Davenport
  • 6 hrs and 11 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the richest neighborhood of Minneapolis, two elderly women lie murdered in their home, killed with a pipe, the rooms tossed but only small items stolen. It is clearly the random work of someone looking for money to buy drugs. But as Lucas Davenport looks more closely, he begins to wonder whether the items are actually so small and the victims so random - if there might not be some invisible agenda at work. Gradually, a pattern begins to emerge, and it leads him to...certainly nothing he ever expected. Which is too bad, because the killers (and, yes, there is more than one of them) are expecting him. Brilliantly suspenseful, filled with rich characterization and exciting drama, Invisible Prey is further proof that Sandford is in a class of his own.


What the Critics Say

"As always for Sandford, entertaining and intelligent reading." (Booklist)
"Interesting and unusual supporting characters, good and bad guys alike, enhance an intriguing puzzle." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

classic Sandford

Lucas Davenport, though he has acquired numerous personal disabilities throughout the series, still manages to satisfy in the end. The characters are complex, and there is only one small inconsistency in the book that makes it less credible, involving the way a particular murder is carried out.

Still Sandford still has an ear for dialog and his pacing is as good as ever. The bad guys are bad, the good guys are good, and justice, of course, triumphs in the end.

I recommend the book.
Read full review

- A. L. DeWitt

Just OK

I listened to "Rules of Prey" and loved it - one of the best thrillers I have heard this year. I bought this one and was somewhat disappointed, it was OK but not close to being as good as Rules. One of the unfortunate things about this one is that it occurs near the end of the series, Rules of Prey is the first in the series, so the main character has changed a great deal. Wish they would record more of the series.
Read full review

- Mark

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-04-2007
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio