In the Market for Murder : Lady Hardcastle Mysteries

  • by T E Kinsey
  • Narrated by Elizabeth Knowelden
  • Series: Lady Hardcastle Mysteries
  • 8 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Spring, 1909, and Lady Hardcastle, amateur sleuth and all-round eccentric, is enjoying a well-deserved rest. But a week after a trip to the cattle market, Spencer Caradine, a local farmer, turns up dead in the pub, face-down in his beef and mushroom pie. Once again, it is up to Lady Hardcastle and her maid, Florence, to solve the case.
Armed with wit and whimsy, not to mention Florence's mean right hook, the pair set out to discover what really happened and why. Was it poison or just ill luck?
As they delve further into their investigation, they encounter a theft where nothing is stolen, a séance with a troubled ghost and an ever-increasing number of Spencer's family and friends who might just have motive for murder. One thing's for sure: Lady Hardcastle has a mystery on her hands.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Clever intertwining of three fun mysteries

This is a terrific sequel to A Quiet Life in the Country. The book takes three mystery lines and intertwines them effectively. There is the death of a cruel man that might be from poisoning. A ghost accuses a member of the group doing a seance of murder. And the plaques and awards from a rugby club get stolen. I enjoyed the way the threads of the mysteries end up intertwined.

The book is very fun, with clever word play and banter between Lady Hardcastle and her maid, Florence, who narrates the book. I loved this book and am waiting on tenterhooks for the third book to released on June 15!
Read full review

- Victoria J. Mejia-Gewe


It's been a while since I've looked forward to and pre-ordered a book. I was very excited for this one and savored every minute. Fantastic storylines, delightful laugh-out-loud moments and superb narration. I can't wait for the next!
Read full review

- My02cents

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-20-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio