Regular price: $14.60

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $14.60

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Hollywood has sent its emissaries to New Iberia Parish to film a Civil War epic in the steaming mists of the Louisiana bayou, reawakening the ghosts of a past best left undisturbed. The restless specters wait in the shadows for Cajun cop Dave Robicheaux as he hunts a serial butcher who is preying on the less-than-innocent young. For these spirits are the guardians of Robicheaux's darkest torments, and they hold the key to ultimate salvation - or a final, fatal downfall.
More mayhem? Listen to more of James Lee Burke's Dave Robicheaux thrillers.
©1993 James Lee Burke. All rights reserved (P)1993 Simon and Schuster Inc. All rights reserved.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Dave's visions of the Confederate dead bring a Faulknerian resonance to the miasmal guilt and self-doubt that enrich all his encounters with evil. After outstanding success in the genre, Burke has produced a violent, somber, deeply satisfying crossover novel." (Kirkus Reviews)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Daniel McAfee on 09-06-07

Abridged Version - Wish it wasn't

I loved Crusader's Cross and The Tin Roof Blowdown so I wanted to go back and listen to the Burke/Robichaux series in order.

I started with Heaven's Prisoners and move on to this one.

These abridged audiobooks are not nearly as good. It just seems there are too many holes in the storyline and storytelling aspect of the book.

This was a tad better than Heaven's Prisoners, which was REAL choppy, and I only rated it 3-stars solely due to the reader, Will Patton.

Will Patton is an extraordinary reader and I will also bump this rating to a 4 instead of 3-star solely based on his performance of the book.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By A. Smith on 12-19-07

Wish It Was Unabridged

Great story and a wonderful reader. Will Patton is the perfect reader for Burke's narratives. However, his books are too complex to be abridged, at least in this length. Check out Tin Roof Blow Down for a really great listen. It will make you purchase all the others as it did for me.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc