I'll Never Let You Go : Morgans of Nashville

  • by Mary Burton
  • Narrated by Coleen Marlo
  • Series: Morgans of Nashville
  • 10 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Love hurts
He promised to kill her. One night four years ago, Leah Carson's husband almost succeeded. Philip stabbed her 23 times before fleeing. The police are sure he's dead. But fear won't let Leah believe it.
And sometimes
It starts with little things. Missing keys. A flat tire. Mysterious flowers. All easily explained away if the pattern wasn't so terrifyingly familiar. Leah has a new veterinary practice and a new life with no ties to her nightmare. But Tennessee Bureau of Investigation agent Alex Morgan suspects something. And when another woman's body is found, stabbed 23 times, Leah knows her past has found her.
It kills
As Leah and Alex untangle the horrifying truth, he watches her, ready for the perfect moment. Until death - that was the vow they made. And a killer always keeps his word....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Amazingly Written!

Loved it! 1st Mary Burton book that I've purchased. I will continue on with the rest of the Morgan's collection. Mary is very talented at what she does, and the narrator was also great. Thanks!
Read full review

- Anabelle

A good romantic thriller, heavy on the thriller

This novel does a great job of explaining the consequences of spouse abuse, the constant fears, the comforting rituals (such as locking your door three times just to be sure), the hyper-vigilance, the inability to let down your barriers so others can get close. The main character was an abused woman, and her ex nearly killed her by stabbing her 23 times. Her ex-husband is supposed to be dead...then why is all the torment happening again?

The heroine is seeing lots of things, some small, some not small at all, such as the movers packing up her house while she's at work. And she has no plans to move! Keys are not where she left them, flowers sent anonymously for her wedding anniversary, the sense of being watched, of being followed, flat tires for no reason. The author does a good job of building the suspense, of getting into the heads of the major players and taking the reader along for the ride.

There is also a romantic undercurrent in this book, and while that's important to the story, it's not the paramount theme. I found myself liking the book quite a bit, and I didn't realize that it's part of a series, this one is book three. It works as a stand alone, however, even though there are references to events from previous books. I think most thriller fans will like this...it's not the best one I've ever read, but it's pretty good.

The narration was distracting for me. Coleen Marlo over-accentuates her hard consonants, so a D sounds like a T, especially at the end of words or sentences. Words like 'marriage' get shoved into one syllable to become 'merge'. Her southern accents are a joke, as are most of her male voices. I would classify her efforts as more speaking than acting, and not speaking all that well IMO. But if you can live with the poor narrative quality, I think you'll like this book.
Read full review

- kestergayle

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-27-2015
  • Publisher: Audible Studios