Regular price: $30.79

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From a terrific new voice comes a standout debut thriller in the vein of What She Knew and I Let You Go.
A woman in a coma. The man who could save her life - if only he could speak.
When young, beautiful Cassie Jensen arrives unconscious to the intensive care ward at St. Catherine's hospital after being struck in a hit-and-run while out walking her dog, chief nurse Alice Marlowe thinks she looks familiar. She starts digging deeper into Cassie's relationships, only to discover something about her patient that she'd been keeping secret from everyone, including her devoted husband and family. Soon Alice finds herself obsessed with her patient's past and future, even willing to put her own career on the line in her single-minded search for answers.
Frank, a patient on the same ward who has locked-in syndrome, can hear and see everything around him but cannot speak. Soon he comes to understand that Cassie's life is still in danger. While the police continue to look for clues, only Frank holds the truth, but he's unable to communicate it.
As the novel flashes between points of view, the listener will get closer and closer to the truth of who Cassie Jensen was and why she was out on the road that fateful night....
©2018 Emily Elgar (P)2018 Little Brown Book Group
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Emotionally charged and tautly plotted, Emily Elgar's debut is a stunning example of psychological suspense." (Clare Mackintosh, international best-selling author of I Let You Go and I See You)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Jf13 on 03-10-18

So good!!

I could not stop listening. This was a really engrossing story! Highly recommend it and the narrator is the best.

Read More Hide me
3 out of 5 stars
By Krity on 03-09-18

This book wasn’t the best...

I mean- sure it was okay- but it took me awhile to get into it- the ending really wasn’t what I had hoped for! Kind of disappointed.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc