Icebreaker : James Bond: The Collection

  • by John Gardner
  • Narrated by Simon Vance
  • Series: James Bond: The Collection
  • 7 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Bond reluctantly finds himself recruited into a dangerous mission involving an equally dangerous and treacherous alliance of agents from the CIA, the KGB, and Israel's Mossad. The team dubbed "Icebreaker" waste no time double crossing each other, as they try to root out the leader of the murderous National Socialist Action Army, Count Konrad von Gloda, a one time SS officer, who now perceives himself as the New Adolf Hitler.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Recommend without reservation

Any additional comments?

Bravo to Brilliance Audio and Audible for bringing a set of the John Gardner 007 series to audiobook. I greatly enjoyed revisiting “Icebreaker” and Simon Vance’s narration was (as always) first-rate. The plot that sees James Bond tackle a former SS officer neo-Nazi with dreams of a new Reich takes 007 to Finland and includes a thrilling encounter with a snowplow (villains are always searching for a new and inventive way to dispatch our hero) and a particularly brutal ice torture. “Icebreaker” also includes one of my favorite of the literary heroines in Paula Vacker, and a complete set of rounded secondary characters.
As regards the series, many of these have already appeared in audiobook form such as “Nobody Lives Forever,” “Scorpius”, “Never Send Flowers”, “Death is Forever”, “SeaFire” and “Cold” (most in an abridged form, though “Cold” has appeared in both abridged and unabridged) but to my knowledge this is the first time that “Icebreaker” has appeared in the format. Of course Gardner’s first two “Licence Renewed” and “For Special Services” were handled capably by Jeremy Northam a few years back (both excellent I might add if you see them for sale I would recommend them), and the two novelizations (“Licence to Kill” and “Goldeneye” both received capable releases previously), but the realization that I had an opportunity to own the complete set led me to quickly add all of them to my cart or wish list.

Read full review

- Darren Harrison

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-15-2015
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio