I Will Have Vengeance : Commissario Ricciardi

  • by Maurizio de Giovanni
  • Narrated by Grover Gardner
  • Series: Commissario Ricciardi
  • 6 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Naples, 1931. A bitter wind stalks the city streets, and murder lies at its chilled heart. When Maestro Vezzi, one of the world's greatest tenors, is found brutally murdered in his dressing room at Naples' famous San Carlo theater, the enigmatic and aloof Commissario Ricciardi is called to investigate. Arrogant and bad-tempered, Vezzi was hated by many. But with the livelihoods of the opera at stake, who would have committed such a callous act?
Ricciardi and his loyal colleague Maione are determined to discover the truth, but Ricciardi carries a secret of his own. Will it help him solve this murder?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Little right, a Lot Wrong

First mistake was buying three by the same author before listening to one. The second was since I had run out of everything by Donna Leon and starting to feel homesick for her Italy, the setting appealed. In comparison it felt like the author was using her template and filling in the blanks with a poorly crafted pen.

You're not going to fall into like with this character. Or any of the characters. The story was too contrived throughout and poorly done at that. Some dialogue very fast and choppy, sounding as if the reader did so simply to make another voice. Ever too much crystal balling.

If I'd purchased these as hard copies I would return the other two without taking out of the bag.
Read full review

- Gabrielle

Compelling start to mystery series set in 1939s Italy

I was at first put off by the detective's apparent ability to "see" dead people, but the author primarily uses this as a metaphor for empathetic observation of the cruel inequities existing in fascist 1930s Naples. Good writing and strong characterizations in a dramatic setting. Will download the second book in this series.
Read full review

- Nora

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-21-2015
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.