I Is for Innocent : Kinsey Millhone Mysteries

  • by Sue Grafton
  • Narrated by Mary Peiffer
  • Series: Kinsey Millhone Mysteries
  • 9 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When David Barney was acquitted in the shooting death of his wife, Isabelle, a good many thought that justice had not been served, including Kenneth Voight, Isabelle's former husband. Now, five years later, Voight is the plaintiff in a civil suit in which Barney stands accused of Isabelle's wrongful death. The stakes are high (Isabelle's estate is worth millions), but time is running short: the statute of limitations will cut Voight off in only a matter of weeks. Enter sexy, savvy ex-cop-turned-P.I. Kinsey Millhone, brought in by Voight to gather the necessary damning evidence. It doesn't take long, however, for Kinsey to find that while a lot of people hate David Barney, a lot more hated Isabelle. Suddenly, a simple civil case becomes a deadly hunt for someone who once got away with murder, and may again.


What the Critics Say

"A sober, resolute Kinsey, romanceless at the moment, and a clever, meaty puzzle....Rack up another winner for Grafton." (Kirkus Reviews)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great all the way around

Another great story from Sue Grafton. Keeps you wondering as to "who done it"! Now I am on to "J".
Have to disagree with the other reviewer...I do like the narrator ...she actually makes the story better in my opinion.
Read full review

- Pamela

Always Terrific

I is for Innocent is yet another great chapter in the Saga of Kinsey Millhone - the P.I. around whom the series revolves. I can’t specifically tell you anything about ‘I’ that I can’t say about the entire series, so here’s my opinion of the series instead:

I have vague recollections of seeing these books at the book store when I was in high school in the 80s; back then the series was probably up to about ‘C’ or ‘D’. I jumped in 20 years later in 2008 when ‘T’ came out and I love it - especially Kinsey’s attitude. It’s dry, cynical and sarcastic, however Sue Grafton has a way of writing that does not throw it over the top into cliché territory, but rather she aims for smart and hits the bull’s eye. Kinsey’s attitude makes her relatable; although I am not sure I would want to be her friend… she is a bit stand offish!

Picking up a story is like tuning into a TV show. You know the people, the setting, the premise, the relationships… and when you start a new book: it’s a new adventure. The story lines are so varied from one book to another, where does Sue come up with all her ideas? And they don’t seem formulaic to me at all, however I do spread out my reading on purpose! I might feel otherwise if I read them all back to back.

The stories can be read on their own, you don’t have to read them in order. Sure there are parts of Kinsey’s story that run through from one book to the next, but there is just enough exposition to catch you up if you missed part of her evolution, yet not so much that you’d be bored if you already know just where she is in her life.

Out of the 22 books out so far (the series is up to ‘V’) I have read 14 – all out of sequence:

K S A T C – 2008
Q – 2009
U L N – 2010
V M R – 2011
J I – 2012

I read the new ones right away when they come out, and since the releases are about 2 years apart, it gives me plenty of time to catch up on the older ones in between.

‘W’ should be out next summer in theory … stay tuned!
Read full review

- Simone

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-26-2007
  • Publisher: Random House Audio