I Am Half-Sick of Shadows : Flavia de Luce Mysteries

  • by Alan Bradley
  • Narrated by Jayne Entwistle
  • Series: Flavia de Luce Mysteries
  • 7 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It’s Christmastime, and the precocious Flavia de Luce—an eleven-year-old sleuth with a passion for chemistry and a penchant for crime-solving—is tucked away in her laboratory, whipping up a concoction to ensnare Saint Nick. But she is soon distracted when a film crew arrives at Buckshaw, the de Luces’ decaying English estate, to shoot a movie starring the famed Phyllis Wyvern. Amid a raging blizzard, the entire village of Bishop’s Lacey gathers at Buckshaw to watch Wyvern perform, yet nobody is prepared for the evening’s shocking conclusion: a body found, past midnight, strangled to death with a length of film. But who among the assembled guests would stage such a chilling scene? As the storm worsens and the list of suspects grows, Flavia must use every ounce of sly wit at her disposal to ferret out a killer hidden in plain sight.


What the Critics Say

"If ever there was a sleuth who’s bold, brilliant, and yes, adorable, it’s Flavia de Luce.” (USA Today)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Character who brought me back to Cozy Mystery

Jayne Entwhistle is the perfect voice for Flavia! These books brought me back to the genre after many years, and what an experience! A series that I immediately had to hear in total, and have given as gifts and recommended so many times. A brilliant setting, interesting characters and charm, not to mention a good mystery make it great. 7 hours goes entirely too fast.
Read full review

- Frobertimus

Can't Get Enough of this Series!

We need more! Flavia de Luce has stolen my heart. I have listened to the entire series and cannot wait for the next installment. Jayne Entwistle does an excellent job of narration. Be sure to listen to these in sequence as you will miss some of the more subtle nuances if you don't.
Read full review

- Coffee Lover

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-01-2011
  • Publisher: Random House Audio