Hurt : DS Lucy Black

  • by Brian McGilloway
  • Narrated by Caroline Lennon
  • Series: DS Lucy Black
  • 9 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Lucy Black must protect the young and vulnerable... but can she protect herself?
Late December. A 16-year-old girl is found dead on a train line. Detective Sergeant Lucy Black is called to identify the body. The only clues to the dead teenager's last movements are stored in her mobile phone and on social media - and it soon becomes clear that her 'friends' weren't what they claimed to be.
Lucy is no stranger to death: she is still haunted by the memory of the child she failed to save, and the killer she failed to put behind bars. And with a new boss scrutinizing her every move, she is determined that - this time - she will leave no margin for error.
Hurt is a tense crime thriller about how, in the hands of a predator, trust can turn into terror.
Brian McGilloway was born in Derry, Northern Ireland, in 1974, and teaches English at St Columb's College, Derry. He lives near the Irish borderlands with his wife and their four children.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Enjoyed from first to last

Smartly written meets outstanding narration!
There's only one in ten which demand my non-stop listening, but I'm there with this one.
Read full review

- Terry

Great listen

I really enjoyed this mystery. Despite the delicate subject matter, the author didn't go to the gruesome places many mystery writers to which many mystery writers these days descend. The main character Lucy Black was realistically drawn, a strong and interesting heroine. The principal storyline was well done. Nothing too earth shattering or twisty but there was enough suspense and interest in Lucy's methodical unraveling of what had happened to keep me hooked. Nice subplots as well. I liked entering a world (Northern Ireland) I don't know well. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes police centered mysteries set outside the US.
Read full review

- W

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-25-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios