Regular price: $29.65

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A psychological thriller about the murder of a teenage girl, from the author of Lacy Eye.
On a cold December day in northern upstate New York, the body of high school senior Joy Enright is discovered in the woods at the edge of a pond. She had been presumed drowned, but an autopsy shows that she was, in fact, strangled. As the investigation unfolds, four characters tell the story from widely divergent perspectives: Susanne, Joy's mother and a professor at the local art college; Martin, a black graduate student suspected of the murder; Harper, Joy's best friend and a potential eyewitness; and Tom, a rescue diver and son-in-law of the town's police chief. As a web of small-town secrets comes to light, a dramatic conclusion reveals the truth about Joy's death.
©2016 Jessica Treadway (P)2016 Hachette Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Exceptional...[Treadway's] ability to define meaningful characters stands out, and the ending is a shock." (RT Book Reviews)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By cristina on 12-16-16

Very, very good

I almost put the book down because watching the parents cope with their daughter's death was almost too painful for me personally (having had to cope with death myself years ago). I am glad I stuck with it. I thought the character development was excellent--and the telling of how these dissimilar lives collide--the repercussions of someone's action on another and another and another--was seamless. Can't wait to read another book by Treadway. The narration was also excellent--I usually find the use of different narrators too distracting but it only added to the experience here. All were A+. Well done.

Read More Hide me

19 of 20 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Meg on 01-15-17

Average and and at times tedious

I typically enjoy books that are told from multiple perspectives as it often provides a layer of complexity that as a reader I find really gratifying. I especially love when it provides character development that is richer than it might otherwise be. Unfortunately, this book doesn't manage to achieve either one of those goals.
That's not to say it isn't an entertaining read, it is. But it is also sometimes tedious as it goes over and over the same material (told from different perspectives) without adding much to it. I found that really boring and I struggled to find the motivation to finish the book.
If you just want some entertainment this might do the trick, but there just wasn't enough here for me to give it a great review or recommendation.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc