Regular price: $17.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $17.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From Graham Norton, the BAFTA-award-winning Irish television host and author of the "sparkling and impish" (Daily Mail) memoirs The Life and Loves of a He Devil and So Me, comes a charming debut novel set in an idyllic Irish village where a bumbling investigator has to sort through decades of gossip and secrets to solve a mysterious crime.
The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama, but when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be those of Tommy Burke - a former lover of two different inhabitants - the village's dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated sergeant PJ Collins struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community's worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret.
In this darkly comic, touching and, at times, heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling's The Casual Vacancy, Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters and explore - with searing honesty - the complexities and contradictions that make us human.
©2016 Graham Norton and Hodder & Stoughton (P)2017 Simon and Schuster Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Rani on 11-01-17

Sublime, Simply Sublime and Dripping with Cynicism

I love Graham Norton. I loved “The Casual Vacancy.” So how could I not love this book. Then to have Graham narrate it was exquisite.

I loved the story. I loved the twists. Small town happenings that reveal the seedy side of human interaction and dysfunction all wrapped up in a murder mystery. What’s not to love? So well done!

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful


By Rocketboy13 on 10-20-17

I like the Author as a TV Personality

I picked up this title because I saw the author's interview with Stephen Colbert. While I enjoyed it well enough I felt it was missing something. There are plenty of funny scenes and plenty of touching or sad scenes, it got an emotional reaction from me a few times.

I don't know what I was expecting, maybe a more complex mystery, maybe more comedy, but while I enjoyed the book just fine I didn't feel any real "oomph". Maybe I am not the target audience, the way it focuses on romantic elements and vulnerability it would appeal to readers who prefer stories emphasizing those, which is not my thing.

I don't normally read mysteries, I think this is only the fourth or fifth one ever, so I might just be a poor judge of this one.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc