High Profile : Jesse Stone Mysteries

  • by Robert B. Parker
  • Narrated by Scott Sowers
  • Series: Jesse Stone Mysteries
  • 5 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When the body of controversial talk-show host Walton Weeks is discovered hanging from a tree on the outskirts of Paradise, police chief Jesse Stone finds himself at the center of a highly public case. When another dead body, that of a young woman, is discovered just a few days later, the pressure to solve the crimes becomes almost unbearable. Two victims in less than a week should provide a host of clues, but all Jesse runs into are dead ends. But what may be the most disturbing aspect of these murders is the fact that no one seems to care: not a single one of Weeks' ex-wives, not the family of the girl. And when the medical examiner reveals a heartbreaking link between the two departed souls, the mystery only deepens. Forced to delve into a world of stormy relationships, Jesse soon comes to realize that knowing whom to trust is indeed a matter of life and death.


What the Critics Say

"This is Parker's most complex, ambitious novel in years....Great reading from an old hand who hasn't lost his touch." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

When the heroes are weaker than the criminals

I was initially drawn to this series and its characters, especially because the Spenser novels have become so trite and formulaic. The murder investigation in this book is reasonably interesting -- so many suspects with so many motives -- but the central characters are just getting silly. Jesse's inability to distance himself from his lying, unfaithful, manipulative and narcissistic ex-wife -- who proves herself even more despicable in this novel -- makes it difficult to trust his judgment on anything else. He's also turning into a bit of a bully. And Sunny, the private investigator and Jesse's potential new love interest, is equally in thrall to her ex, who may or may not be a mobster. Don't these people learn from the criminals they investigate? Supporting characters Molly and Suitcase are more fleshed out here, which is fun and welcome. I guess I'm just as bad as Jesse and Sunny, because I'll never give up on Parker, even though his last few books have been so disappointing -- whatever happened to the man who wrote such books as Looking for Rachel Wallace?
Read full review

- Babs "Addicted to Audible!"


The plot was ok, but the book was not designed for listening. The author over-relied on the phrases "He said.." or "she said." If I heard the word "said" one more time I was going to scream. After 15 minutes, it was like fingernails on a blackboard, I couldn't take it anymore!
Read full review

- Maureen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-22-2007
  • Publisher: Random House Audio