Regular price: $20.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Kicked out of the underworld and cursed to walk this earth for all eternity, Ace Dante finds solace in helping others avoid the wrath of the gods.
But when warrior-bitch, Queen of Cats, and Ace's ex-wife, Bastet, hires him to stop whoever is slaughtering her blessed women, Ace is caught between two of the most powerful deities to have ever existed: Isis and Osiris.
The once-revered gods aren't dead. They're back, and Ace is in their way.
©2016 Pippa DaCosta (P)2016 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Sandy V. (o´〰`o)♡*✲゚*。 on 12-02-16

Egyptian Gods Drama in a Modern World

Must get educated first on Egyptian Gods and Mythology. Once you do this first before reading it, you'll truly get to enjoy it.

I thought it was an okay book. For a small one, it took me a while. I have read Pippa DaCosta's works and for a moment I was under the impression I missed previous books. My only disappointment was writer didn't provide the reader background information on the Gods. It was hard for me in the beginning, as it left me questioning many times "why". Hence why a short story took me a while to get into. I had to do research. Good thing for Pinterest app and Egyptian Gods family tree and info!!

I am unsure about my rating; as I still have some unanswered questions about main character. Maybe I am being harsh. Overall I did get to enjoy it (after research... and narration) and do want to read what happens next.

I purchased the audible book when I saw it was narrator Paul Woodson. Da man is in no doubt a superb narrator!! I have a list of books narrated by him I am yet to own! Great voice actor! It made the story much more exciting, and go through emotions.

Audible made it much more enjoyable!

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

By Kathie on 08-08-17

way too short!

I no sooner got really into the story when it ended. RATS!! And more rats!!!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Áine Creates on 02-22-17

Enjoyable but disappointing

Don't get me wrong this is a good story but it's not a great story. Maybe it's a first book in the series and it's just going to take off but after reading the great reviews I had high hopes and ended up feeling rather underwhelmed. Ace just irritated me. He was never a hero nor an anti-hero, he never overcame this 'blackness' he apparently contained and saw the light, did his good deed etc. In fact his blackness never seemed all that dark. I never got the feeling he was capable of dark deeds and all in all he was just kind of meh. I am very glad I didn't use my credits for this and got it at a good price otherwise I think I would be feeling a bit cheated. I think this is the kind of book you read if you are awaiting a release and are finished with all your other books. I probably will read the next installment just not yet. Of note the writing style is very good without any grammatical errors, spelling mistakes or plot mistakes. I just think that the author could have developed her characters better. I never cheered anyone on nor did I wish anyone a slow painful death lol. This confirms that I never became emotionally invested in any characters.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc