Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When a road traffic accident on a dark autumn night uncovers a disturbing conspiracy, Detective Sergeant Kay Hunter's investigation exposes a ruthless serial killer exploiting vulnerable young women.
With her enemies unmasked and her career spiraling out of control, Kay's determination to seek vengeance for the victims brings her dangerously close to those who want to silence her.
Undeterred, she uncovers the real reason behind a plot to destroy her career and sets in motion a terrifying chain of events.
Could Kay's need for revenge be her undoing, or will she survive to see justice served?
Hell to Pay is a gripping, fast-paced crime thriller, and the fourth in the Detective Kay Hunter series:

    Scared to Death
    Will to Live
    One to Watch
    Hell to Pay
A gripping whodunit for fans of Peter Robinson, David Baldacci, and James Patterson.
©2017 Rachel Amphlett (P)2017 Rachel Amphlett
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Lauren Jones on 05-19-18

Hell to Pay

Do the rich bad guys always win? If they have money, are they able to buy their way into all departments that actually can make their indiscretions and criminal activity disappear? There are always those who cannot be bought. Detective Kay Hunter and her team are sharp, determined and know what they are getting into with this fourth installment. Amphlett has a great story, filled with action, mystery and obsession.

The author does it again in this installment. For the fourth installment in the Detective Kay Hunter series, she is the one being hunted. The police department is supposed to be the one picking up the clues and hunting down the criminals, not the other way around. After having her colleague take out the cameras with expert care from her home, she still feels like she is being watched. Someone is being very vigilant in keep tabs on her and it could be the very person who can quite frankly cover up every bad deal of his with the snap of his finger. He has the money and the means do so very easily, making their job that much harder to pin their recent car crash and dead body on him. Detective Kay Hunter can play this game too though. She is determined to outsmart him and catch him at his own game, but she doesn’t realize that he has an obsession with her…a very deadly obsession which can turn the tide.

Amphlett has a great fourth installment with her Detective Kay Hunter Mystery series, Hell to Pay. The character development is absolutely terrific, shedding light on some characters from previous installments. Since this review is complementing the audiobook, the narrator portrayed the characters beautifully and with the author’s vivid description, they both gave life to the story together. The pace is perfect, fast and steady, making it easy to follow. If you are a reader of murder mystery and crime fiction, you may enjoy this book. With this being the fourth installment in the Detective Kay Hunter series, readers can still read or listen to this book as a standalone, but their are hints and nods back to previous installments.

An audiobook was provided to Turning Another Page by Audiobookworm Promotions and in no way affects the honesty of this review. We provide a five-star rating for Hell to Pay by Rachel Amphlett.

Read More Hide me
4 out of 5 stars
By Dawn H on 04-27-18

Good Crime Fiction

I received this audiobook as part of my participation in a blog tour with Audiobookworm Promotions. The tour is being sponsored by Rachel Amphlett. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it. This is the fourth Kay Hunter book that I’ve listened to and I’m enjoying the series.

Kay Hunter and her team are called when a body is discovered in the trunk of a car that was in a serious accident. When they find out that the car belongs to Kay's nemesis, she's hopeful that he'll finally be caught and go to prison. As they investigate, they uncover more than they could ever have guessed.

Kay is strong although her husband's on a business trip so she's alone at night and that makes her jumpy which is understandable.

I've been waiting since the first book for this story line to end and it was worth the wait. Everything comes together and a few things that happened in the first 3 books are now clear. This book does stand on its own, but it'd be better to read the first 3 if you can.

Rachel Amphlett has a great writing style and the narrator does a good job with pace and enunciation. It's a difficult book to put down. Hell to Pay is a good detective mystery with a couple of surprises.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc